We Write Poems Prompt #17

This is my first prompt in a long time.  It came from We Write Poems.  The simple instructions are to take one or more of my poems and create a word cloud at Wordle–Beautiful Word Clouds.  Then I create a new poem using 6 to 12 of the largest words.  Since my youngest son was right beside me, I offered to use one of his poems instead.  He agreed and this is the wordle that was created:

And this is the poem I created:

pesky winds
unpredictable–
wild winter

Wild Winter

Wild winter that’s its name;
unpredictable is its game.

Once a year when it comes
with pesky winds and loads of
fun.  Wild winter has a limit.
It melts to slush then
to mush.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Favorite Poems by Others, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to We Write Poems Prompt #17

  1. dustus says:

    How excellent! What a neat prompt too

  2. Artswebshow says:

    I do like to see the results of other peoples collaborating.

  3. Robin Mullet says:

    Good job, you continue to write beautifully.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Robin
      Happy to see you hear. Thank you for the visit and comment. I’m working on writing better and trying to get my kids to start out the school year right. I’m also adventuring in the world of weight loss/exercise. Success so far! How’s the honey flowing? Good harvest?

  4. Souldose says:

    I am most definitely trying this… Thanks for a cool thing to help keep busy.

  5. ajoops says:

    This sounds like funn! Love the haiku 😀
    (PS. this is heartshapedlies. New account… I got the blog exported to this username!)

  6. It’s sweet that you involve your son in the process, and equally, it’s cool that “WILD” stood out so triumphantly in that Wordle. I like!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph Harker,
      You noticed that, did you. 😉 I like it too. I wish I’d used more than just the one poem, but the process was worth the restriction. I hope to do some more writing with my son. He’s posted some of his own poems on his MySpace. I’m proud of him. Thanks for stopping in and leaving your note. I always look forward to your visits.

  7. Irene says:

    That’s why the saying, as unpredictable as the weather!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Irene,
      Very true. 😀 We have had a hot but boring summer. I’m ready for some amazing storms, as long as they don’t fry anymore of our electrical equipment. (June’s storm took out our AC.)

  8. william says:

    brilliant, always a pleasure to come here, you grow like a beautiful tree xx

  9. Technobabe says:

    Really like this haiku! I do like the unpredictability of the winds! We never know from day to day what to expect. No same ol’ same ol’ huh?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      The winds have really blessed us lately, at least I feel they have. The heat is gone and everything feels cooler and fresher. I enjoyed that haiku making process with my son. Glad you could blow in and leave a note. 😉

  10. lesliepaints says:

    What a creative project. Doubly inspiring since it was from your son’s original poem. You two must work together more often! 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      leslie,
      Two for one leslie visits! Thanks again for the comments. It is fun working with my son. I love it that he is interested in writing. He’s been posting his poetry on his MySpace. Not sure how his friends are responding, but I’m proud of him.

  11. Amity says:

    Wow, this is beautiful Yousei! Loved it! Very imaginative! :))

    That must be real fun for you and your son…:))

  12. slpmartin says:

    Just brillant…I really think you did a great job with that prompt!

  13. brian says:

    that is really cool…i may need to give this one a try.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

