Inspiring View

Last Friday evening, I hid in my bedroom–hid from children, husband, and housework.  I was watching an episode of a series my sister sent us, when I noticed the light coming in the windows was very odd.  We had had storms and were expecting storms, so I decided to check the sky for tornado signs.  When I walked out, I had to catch my breath.  I immediately hurried back in, called my husband and my children, and returned outside to capture the most amazing sky I had ever seen.

The very air was golden.  The trees, the grass, the pond, the white railing on the deck–everything was gold.  It was like looking through amber glasses.  My husband said that it looked like a fairy world.  Here are a few of the pictures I took.

Titania beckoned to Oberon,
“Come.
Stand with me beneath a Dalí sky.
A moment of truce.”

Away from minions and mischief,
his scolding clock hung on a purple cloud,
stretched
and dripped
into a golden creek.

Her rage
hovered
next to her
–adorned in a bold, righteous,
newly gilded uniform.
Beneath the eerie glow, the hole in its chest expanded.
Only a glimmering haiga was visible.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Gallery, Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Inspiring View

  1. sandy says:

    Yep, that is the same. So glad to hear from you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sandy,

      Good to be back and enjoying all the blog visiting. I showed my sister some of your photos. She was impressed too. Those Queens Anne Lace shots were wonderful. Something of a weed in our yard, it’s still a favorite of mine.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful!! I am looking at it again. :-)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jennifer,
      I’ve done the same thing. I had it as wallpaper on my phone for a while. I still look it it when I go through those pictures. So glad I can share it with you. Best to you. :D

  3. heartshapedlies says:

    Wow. This is amazing.
    It’s so great that you were able to capture this moment :)

  4. Magyar says:

    __That moment, that instant when a wonder is seen, that nano-second of life when one senses beyond that, that is. And what did you do? You chose to give that moment to your family… never a thought, just that innate reaction to share. Grand!
    __I trust… it was to them, as it was to you. _m

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Magyar,
      Thank you so much for your visit and thoughtful comment. I didn’t even think about the significance of the sharing, I just wanted someone else to see the amazing sight. Glad I could share a part with you as well. Looking forward to visiting your sight and reading some haiku. :)

  5. blissbait says:

    FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC!!! Wow. What a gift. Thank You for sharing and for pairing it with such lovely words! Walking away smiling…..Cheers and Namaste. :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Blissbeam,
      So glad you came by to share the sunset with me. It was a unique experience that just had to be shared. Wonderful thing about the internet, the sharing can go on and on. Will be stopping by to visit soon.

  6. irene says:

    Beautiful sky!

  7. Jennifer says:

    What beautiful pictures, and what an amazing experience to see a sky so magnificent! Technobabe, your experience sounds mysterious and awe-inspiring, as well. Thank you, Yousei, for sharing these.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jennifer,
      Thanks for the visits. I’m glad I could share these posts with you. Hope things are going well for you. I’m happier now that the weather has cooled down. :D

  8. ichabod says:

    Hi Yousei;

    Words are not adequate to describe experience you must have felt within you when you looked out the window.

    It was a gift to you.

    Wonderful isn’t it. :)

  9. Robin Mullet says:

    Nature is always my inspiration for my writing. These photos are stunning. By the way, thank you for mentioning our conference in your blog. I was also very impressed by Terry’s keynote talk. I am so glad you took something you could use. It was a very long drive for you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Robin,
      Other than the getting up at an insane hour to be there and getting back late, I really enjoyed the whole experience. Terry’s talk was definitely my favorite part. I’ve had several responses to the post with notes on his talk and many people have indicated that it was meaningful to them, even in its abbreviated form. I’m very glad I went. Thanks, Robin.

  10. Robert Lew says:

    That’s why I am happy to live where I do, down here in the southern panhandle of Texas. Sometimes the light is golden. Sometimes it is orange. I’m a particular fan of the orange light. When the late afternoon thunderstorms are situated in just the right place, they will light up the entire sky and the earth, too. I sort of live for that (Well, not just that, but it’s something else). This spring was one of the best I can ever remember. May 26th evening was about the most amazing sunset evening event in my memory – ever in my life. It went on for over an hour!!! I wrote a haiku, or several… about it, but there was no describing. :)

    And the worst thing is that I have to listen to people bitch all the time about how unattractive this place is. I say nothing in reply because it wouldn’t change a thing. But writing poetry, especially haiku, has helped open my eyes to nature – even though I already appreciated it so much!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Robert,
      I’m glad you can appreciate the beauty that others overlook. I’m sure we all do that to some degree, but it is comforting to know that there are people looking for beauty instead of looking for things to complain about. Glad you enjoyed the post.

  11. Jingle says:

    this is such a rare and beautiful shot,
    how cool it is that you took them and shared with us.
    Happy Wednesday!
    Glad to see you in my place.
    Missed you…

  12. What a beautiful view. I wish I saw it live.
    Have a golden August.

    Cheers!

  13. Wow! That’s quite a sky. I can see why you rushed for your camera :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Beyond Bluestockings,
      So true! I would have been foolish to have missed the opportunity. I actually took the picture with my phone. So glad it turned out. Glad I could share it with you too. Thanks for stopping by.

  14. Artswebshow says:

    wow. that is one wild sky

  15. Pingback: Math By Joe. | Uncategorized | A Useful Blog Which Have a Wealth of Information about Cancer !

  16. Wow, Absolutely beautiful!! What an amazing experience that must have been! It’s amazing to me to think each sunset is different, created uniquely for us to enjoy….. I really like the poem you included! Thanks so much for sharing! :)
    Kathy

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kathy,
      Thank you so much for coming by and sharing this post with me. The sunset was inspirational and unforgettable. You are right, and I had not really thought about it–each sunset is unique. I doubt I’ll ever see another like that one. Glad you liked the poem. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and time with me.

  17. Tasneem R says:

    Nature is always beautiful . The sky is looking so mysterious .

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tasneem R,
      Thank you for coming by and sharing this post with me. The sky that night was a wonder. I’ve recently reread many of the Transcendental writers and still find kinship in their love of nature. Best to you.

  18. Jacquie says:

    Nice! Wonderful sky, and I like the Midsummer’s Night Dream/Dali imagery (great mix I never would have thought of)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jacquie,
      Howdy! So glad you could come by and share this post with me. I’m not sure where the Shakespeare/Dali pairing came from, but I love both of them, so it was fun to try weaving them together. Hope you’re staying cool.

  19. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    This sky is enough to make one swoon.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      It was magical. I doubt if I’ll ever see anything quite like it again. I felt awed, blessed and giddy with delight. So glad you could come by and share it with me.

  20. Wow, what incredible COLOR! Amazing.

  21. roxie says:

    Beautiful! absolutely breathtaking, the view and the short: so many tantalizing images! Solitude moves your muse, :0

    • Yousei Hime says:

      roxie,
      Thank you for the comment and the visit. I’ve had little solitude since school was out and had even less time to write. Glad I could jot a little down. I’m not pleased with it, but I do think I can rework it later. Hope things are going well for you.

  22. william says:

    beautiful pictures dear xxxx

  23. lesliepaints says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous, Yousei. We have had similar, here. Love the paired writing, also.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I wish you could have seen it in person. I have spoken to people around our area, and anyone who was out that night knew exactly the sunset to which I was referring. I wonder how one could capture that glow in a painting? Thanks for the comment and visit. Glad you enjoyed the writing.

  24. brian says:

    oh wow…what magnificent pictures…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      It was remarkable. I wish I could have captured the ground view. It was like looking through amber glasses–trees, grass, water, skin, even our white deck railing was golden. Thanks for stopping and sharing a comment.

  25. Technobabe says:

    These pictures helped me alot today. The other night something woke me. It was the middle of the night. Usually it is very dark on this little cul-de-sac. But bright light was coming through the drapes. That has never happened. I thought maybe it is emergency vehicles and next door has had another heart attack. I got up and looked out. It was so bright, a yellow light and brighter than any time during the day. I tried to explain it to hubby in the morning, I said it must be like that on LSD which I have never taken. I could not find the right words to explain the glorious beauty and light during the night. Your pictures have helped me do that now.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      So glad you found something useful in this post. What an interesting experience you had! I wonder what it was? Meteor? There was one over the midwest a while back that lit up the sky in three or four states. There is a video of it on youtube (taped from a police car video). Glad I could share this post with you. Thanks for sharing and visiting. :)

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

