Reality of Progress

“When school ends, I’ll have plenty of time to blog.” That’s what I thought.  So far, there are still only 24 hours in a day and too many things to carry out in that time.  My children are both in summer school, and not because they want to get ahead.  The youngest failed history and has to complete a credit for it to go on to high school.  I was never a big history fan when I was in school, so I understand the disinterest.  I don’t understand letting that spiral into failing.  My oldest is a complete mystery.  He managed to fail three classes and won’t graduate on time if he doesn’t complete them this summer.  Biggest sigh ever in the entire universe.

Thankfully drugs and other crippling influences don’t seem to be a cause.  I am watching for them, but no hint.  Thank goodness.  Neither child is interested in academics, and don’t take much pride in these accomplishments.  The oldest is talking military, and though I hate the risk, I don’t see many other choices for him.  In fact, if we weren’t at war, I would say without hesitation this would be the best plan for his future–experience, discipline, and money toward his future.

Other than the kids, some things are changing in a more positive direction.  We now have wi-fi, and though there have been some problems with the signal, it is amazing how much better than dial-up it is.  Of course, I thought that this improvement would give me more time to blog, write, etc.  Not reality, once again.  Now my entire family competes with me for time online.  We only have one computer hooked up to the system and competition for its use is intense.  The number of computers using wi-fi should change, but I’m not sure how soon.  Other summer projects have a higher priority.

One such project is the installation of a geothermal system.  My husband and I are interested in more economic and environmentally friendly energy and appliances.  We’ve talked about geothermal for years.  Over a month ago a series of storms took out our microwave (again) and our air conditioner.  We had to decide whether to replace the unit or invest in a new system.  With the tax credit for energy-efficient home upgrades still in effect, we decided to go with the geothermal.  To save money, we are putting it in ourselves.  My husband is a meticulous and hardworking mechanical engineer, and I have complete faith in his ability to get the job done right.  He does take a bit longer than most, being so careful of every little thing.  The biggest drawback (and irony) is that we’ve had the hottest temperatures of the summer since we started working on the installation.  As long as the nights are cool, we can open up the house at night to cool it down.  Since the house is slow to change temperature when closed up, it is comfortable throughout the day.  However, with days of highs in the 90’s and nights only in the 70s, the house can’t cool down enough.  The short version is, I hate being hot and can’t sleep when I am.  As my husband says, “If momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.”

I apologize for the extended silence on my blog.  I have thought of all of you often and have tried to at least keep up with the incoming comments.  I even manage to visit a few of you, though not all.  As things stabilize, I see more windows of time opening–both kids will be in summer school and my husband will be back at work (he has been off to work on the geothermal).  No promises on how much writing I’ll do.  No promises on how many visits I’ll make.  I’m looking forward to the peace, quiet and time to read and write.

About T A Smith

Just one of the literacy scholars on this site who wants to explore writing in all its complexities.
This entry was posted in Gallery, Photo, Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Reality of Progress

  1. Yousei, I’m with you on the ‘only 24hours in a day’ thing. The blogging world, fun as it is, is taking a back seat for me at present. It seems that my real world will intrude upon my play time by insisting that I maintain relationships, responsibilities, etc.. 😛

    But.. we can blog without obligation 🙂

    Enjoy your summer, think of how cool you’ll be next year 😉

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Beyond Bluestockings,
      Sigh . . . if only the responsibilities of life would keep until I’m ready to deal with them. 😉 Not likely. I do so enjoy blogging. You enjoy your winter, and I hope it’s not next year before I’m cool. 😯

  2. heartshapedlies says:

    It’s been long. I haven’t been around lately either. But Welcome backkk 🙂
    It looks like a lot has been going on! But I’m sure you’ll have a great summer 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      heartshapedlies,
      So glad you came by. Hope that despite the hectic side, college is a good time for you. It is one of my fondest memories. I’m with you on the reading outside the comfort zone. I surprise myself at how snobbish I can be in regards to reading. Let me know if you read LOTR. I’d love to hear your opinions. I remember trying to read it in junior high and giving up. When I tried again, I recognized it as my all-favorite. Enjoy your summer.

  3. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/thursday-poets-rally-week-25-poetry-awards/

    three poetry awards,
    plus two general awards,
    enjoy!
    thanks for the contribution!
    😉

  4. Smart husband, if mamma ain’t happy ha ha ha cute.. I’m glad I got my phone and visited you today, it’s a pleasure as always.
    Sorry to hear about thre kids,hope they’ll both get the credits they need hey.
    Thumbs up on being environmentally friendly, may we follow in these steps;-)
    Will try to visit more often for now, I missed you.

  5. blissbait says:

    Hey! Wow! The whole geothermal thing is SOOOO cool! Just rockin’. Thanks for doing that! And please, please, PLEASE don’t apologize for taking a break! We all have lives and get burnt out or busy. It cycles. It’s just lovely to see You whenever You’re back around. And I’m sure Your kids will be fine. I know I’m in the minority, but I don’t think every kid is academically cut out. And schools tend to be UBER cookie-cut. Oft times the most interesting (and sometimes most intelligent!!!!) fall through the cracks. A friend of mine just barely passed high school. He had all Ds and could’ve cared less. He remains one of the most well read, most articulate, most creative and interesting people I’ve ever met. He just thought the whole thing was STUPID and could’ve cared less about jumping through hoops. He’s doing GREAT as an adult. They’ll find their niche. And…..welcome to wifi! YIPPPEEEEE! Here’s wishing You cooler nights…..Big Hugs and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Blissbeam,
      Welcome. Glad you visited. You, too, are a cool and welcome breeze. I do believe my kids will turn out fine. I’m looking forward to it. Just hard to remember when the rotten days are here. They’re doing better right now, so it is easier to smile. Wifi is awesome. Looking forward to listening and watching stuff I couldn’t manage before. If you have any recommendations (particularly your stuff) let me know.

  6. Artswebshow says:

    It’s been cool catching up

  7. lesliepaints says:

    Hi Yousei. It is good to hear from you, at long last. I would find it hard to paint in the heat. I’d drip perspiration on the paper. Maybe it would create special effects, though! Is your geothermal going to be through a heat pump? You should be praised for your endeavors in this direction. I have been turning up the thermostat as high as I can stand which is 82 degrees. Remarkable the savings on the electric bill. Kids? Phew! Don’t know what to tell you and I’ve had my upsets with mine. All I can say is I hope for their renewed desire to graduate. Mine could not keep up in a college atmosphere and went to trade schools. Lights came on at that point and they excelled in their areas of interest and are doing OK with their chosen careers. High School diploma is important so I can understand your frustration and your time away from writing. Good luck with that geothermal unit and will be sending positive thoughts your way!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      Welcome. The heat is zero fun, that’s for certain. Actually because of age and heat, my laptop died. Now we only have the home computer which we had to hook up directly to the wi-fi. I’m afraid I’ll have to be gainfully employed before I can replace that laptop. Details on the geothermal are fuzzy for me, but I do seem to remember a heat pump being mentioned. I’ll just be happy when the whole thing is in and running. We’re suppose to hit 90’s again tomorrow. Blech. The kids are doing ok. The younger took an authorized break to go to church camp. He’s happy because one of his friends (a girl) will be there. The oldest finished one of the three classes. Hurrah! Now we just have to get the other two done, and I’ll feel much, much better. Thanks for understanding and your wishes.

  8. rdl says:

    Nice to see you here. i’ve been absent of late too.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      rdl,
      We must all need a break now and then, for I’ve noticed quiet times at many of my favorites. I’m finally ready to write and life jumps in the way. Just today my laptop died–the final unresurrectable death. Now I have to talk my frugal spouse into replacing it. Another big sigh.

  9. Irene says:

    hi Yousei, interesting update. Really appreciate your recent visit. Golly, I’ve just bought into a new aircon system and it’s the best money spent ever. Oh the heat, then the bliss of cool air. Sweet.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Irene,
      I wish I’d made a more creative writing flavored update, but I felt an explanation of sorts for my extended silence was due. I am so ready to get writing now. It is suppose to get hot again this week. Ugh. No air for us for awhile. That’s the way it goes when it is a self-installation project headed by an extremely precautious engineer. 😉

  10. william says:

    wonderful to have you back sweetheart I missed you, dont work too hard, relax xxx

  11. roxie says:

    I did miss you! However, you’ve been pulled in so many directions, I congratulate you on maintaining your sanity! Being a mom is not an easy job, and taking caring of the family usually drains us to the point of extinction…I wish for you cool days, recharged nights, and relaxing reads. Every season has its ups and downs, push through this one and your writing will emerge more vibrant, just like you!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      roxie,
      Glad to find you on twitter as well as keeping connected here. I’m trying to hang onto those shreds of sanity. I might make a quilt out of them one it’s all said and done. Thanks for the visit and encouragement.

  12. Kathy Rupff says:

    Hi Yousei,
    Thanks for your positive comments and compliments on Kathy Teaman’s blog (Illustrator Saturday) ! I love your rabbits, too- BEAUTIFUL!!! I look forward to checking out your web and blog-site!
    Thanks again!
    Blessings to you,
    Kathy R.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kathy,
      Thank you for the visit and comment. I enjoyed reading Kathy’s focus on you the other day. I love good art and often wish I’d pursued it. Bunny love is, of course, a great thing to have in common. Did you write the story for the book that was featured? I really enjoyed your website. I hope to return in the future and make an extended viewing of all the lovely art. I was particularly fond of a lion. Some of your pieces have an almost stained-glass feel to them, and I love stained-glass. Thank you again for visiting. I’d enjoy a chance to get to know you as a writer and artist. Perhaps we can find the time between carrots and burrows. 😉

  13. Amity says:

    Hi Yousei;

    Honestly I missed you…when I could not see your blog updating in my blog list, I tried to scroll down and saw that it really hibernated for quite a time…but oh, we are on the same dilemma, that for almost four months now, I’ve been see-sawing, like, I’d blog this week and stop for a week or more and I even stopped bloghopping lately!

    It’s hard to be a working Mom, I would say that is the reason why…and so to keep a balance of things I tried to prioritize, and of course, blogging would always come last!

    I am happy you’re back and hopefully, I would also do the same…;-) And well, family is always a priority. When my eldest daughter got sick last week, I have to take a 4days leave in office and go to the city where they are studying with his kid bro just to bring her to the doctor and to tend to their needs…whew….it’s to stressful a life…and blogging suffers, too! Not a priority though!

    Have a nice Sunday Big Sis! Please drop by when you have time! Ciao…

  14. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I am glad to hear that you aren’t ill and your family is intact. All I can say is “kids!” They can drive you crazy. They will be ok. They will find themselves. It just takes some more time than others.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      You said it. I love them, but I do not understand them. I wonder if my parents felt the same way? I’m sure the did on a few things, but hopefully not as many as we do. I look forward to the day when they “find” themselves. They are going to be amazing guys then.

  15. Jacquie says:

    It’s good to hear what you’re up to. I’m having the same problem here with sleep. Good luck with everything!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jacquie,
      It gets hot up your way? 😉 Hope your writing is going well. Trying to get into a writing group or two here, just to keep writing going and get more particular feedback.

  16. brian says:

    good to see a post from you….that geothermal energy sounds really cool. sounds like you have quite a bit going on…hope that the remainder of your summer goes well. smiles.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Hopefully geothermal will be really cool. I’m looking forward to the rest of the summer, even with all its interesting turmoil. Best to you as well.

  17. Technobabe says:

    You have much going on in your life and with your family. I wish you some peace and cool days soon.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      I’m sure the palette of everyone’s life is different, buy mine is certainly not filled with my favorite colors at present. We are having a much cooler day today. Last night, in the 60’s was bliss. Thank you for your kind wishes, my friend.

  18. Jingle says:

    Welcome back,
    you are missed in our Poets Rally…
    hope to see you around often.

    Best wishes for your kids summer efforts.
    😉

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

