Thoughts on Tennessee

Thinking about the Tennessee area and the tragic destruction and loss of life. So many of these kinds of events have been in the news this year.

waters rise
life debris passes
flowing on

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Thoughts on Tennessee

  1. Pingback: creative writing jobs | CREATIVE WRITING

  2. Artswebshow says:

    I’m lucky to live i a relatively safe part of the world although we have experienced a small earthquake before.
    Scary at the time

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kokot,
      I actually slept through an earthquake once. My husband, then boyfriend, just shook his head in disbelief. What can I say, napping anywhere/anytime is a skill. 😉

  3. Tacy says:

    Aw, I feel terrible for those people in Tennessee. They’re in my prayers. 😦

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tacy,
      Keep up those prayers. There are still people suffering, even after the water dries up. Homes have been messed up, people get sick, it’s hot and some people have no AC. Hope your school year is winding up well.

  4. shakira says:

    Happy Mother’s Day,my friend!
    You look BEAUTIFUL, then and NOW!
    You are such a wonderful friend and MOTHER!
    May this Mother’s Day be one of the best with more to come in years!
    YOU ROCK, MOMMY!
    hugs
    shakira

  5. Jeremy says:

    Ugh.

    Tennessee
    ruins its days
    happily along again

    If anything passes for a haiku, that surely will. This state built itself a culture of idiocy and misinformation, and yet again people will send organisations money instead of the people who had their livings rooms turned into public baths. Please, post this.

    Due love to you,
    –Jeremy

  6. Amity says:

    Hi Yousei;

    It’s just totally frightening and I am even thinking that the end of the world is near! Signs or predictions written in the Bible are starting to happen one after the other!

  7. blissbait says:

    Seriously. It’s stunning, all that is happening around us. Thank You for Your words and the simplicity of them. They feel strong and helpless….just real. Cheers and Namaste.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      blissbeam,
      Hello young lady. I’ve missed you. I haven’t been on much either. Glad you stopped by and shared a poem. Sigh. Can’t wait til things settle back into place. Take care. 🙂

  8. Ji says:

    beautifully said!
    Happy Mother’s Day!
    You Rock!
    We Miss You!

  9. Ji says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/05/05/thursday-poets-rally-week-17-may-6-12-2010-homecoming/

    I honor you the three awards from my post, please feel free to share with your other poetry friends…
    have fun!
    thank you for the long time support.
    cheers!

  10. Artswebshow says:

    the media does like to tell bad news.
    I wonder if too much.
    Anyway my unsentimentality aside.
    .
    You captured something really strong in this haiku.
    Great job

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kokot,
      It does seem like there is a lot more bad these days, especially on the tragic side. Just look at the recent voting debacle in your neck of the woods. Reminds me of the Florida fiasco a few years ago. Thanks for the visit and the comment.

  11. hames1977 says:

    this is a beautiful imagery. truthful and honest. it’s like life dreams being swept away in the flood of our days on earth. great read.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hames1977,
      Thank you so much for your visit and comment. I’m glad you felt the poem captured something of the tragedy. I’ll stop by your site soon. Thank you again for your visit.

  12. william says:

    very tragic, superb heart, beautiful makeover xxx

  13. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I like your haiku. The TN devastation is so sad. Just unbelieveable what water can do.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      No disrespect to those suffering, but I am drawn to that show of nature’s power. It is truly amazing what water can do, from slow steady destruction to the crushing blow of a moments flood.

  14. Pingback: Essays Stories

  15. Lucy says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Lucy

    http://dataentryjob-s.com

  16. Viola says:

    Excellent haiku my friend. You are doing so good with these now.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Viola,
      Thank you. I’m working on it. It’s been slow getting back the computer though. Life consistently runs interference. Perhaps things will slow down when summer arrives. Perhaps.

  17. Technobabe says:

    There is no way to stop the rain. This is a nice way for you to pay tribute to the people who live in Tennessee and are battling the floods.

  18. slpmartin says:

    It does seem the year has been full of such events…I appreciated your haiku on this current crisis.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      This year the news of disasters seems almost daily. I read that we’ve had no more earthquakes than we usually do, just had them in populated areas, but still . . . . Thanks for the visit and comment.

  19. brian says:

    nice. i have lived through a few floods…it is devastating…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      No floods for me, but I’ve seen several hurricanes and a couple of tornadoes. Despite the losses, nature’s power still amazes. Thanks for stopping in.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

