RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 16

his essence

your hounds spent
from their coursing
they bed happily
but I track
your spoor
up the stairs
clothes shed
spiced with spruce and pine
evidence Viridios
remains
with hurried stealth
trace that incense–
fecund woodland
I lunge
my lips wide
against throat-pulse
breathe deeply
taste rich
loam and frost
fills my mouth
your skin
redolent
with hunting
and impending
venery

for RWP Day 16

Prompt from RWP member Julie Jordan Scott

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

slow ice thaw
some frogs bottom-float
some . . . no spring

for Poetic Asides Day 16

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 16

  1. Pingback: My Very Own Poetry Prompt | Shiteki Na Usagi

  2. william says:

    welcome back dear, lovely post, loved the theme and it all sounds great xx

  3. Technobabe says:

    Follow the scent in the first one. Yes. It is a wonder how the mind and spirit adjusts step by step up the stairs to the scent that turns you on and attracts you. Very nice.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      The bedroom bit doesn’t happen as often as the poem suggests, but I really do like to find him and smell him after he’s been out in the woods. Mmmm-mmmm.

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I reallly like the first one too. Love those outdoor smells. All very primal. I hope your spring sets in soon.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      Definitely primal. The only other scent that causes that kind of reaction (for me) is Polo. I’m glad my husband doesn’t wear that very often. I’m really glad few men wear it anymore. 😉 Thanks for stopping in.

  5. Viola says:

    Welcome back my friend. I see you are ready to show us what you have learned, and may I say your first poem is amazing, wonderful, and written with style. It is different but I really like it. By the way I like your haiku too. Nicely done. Now please get some rest.

  6. Sultrily beautiful! This is rather different from your usual work… I think you should push your styles out more often.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph,
      😀 Happy, happy to see you here. I rather like that first one too, and it’s a poetic truth. 😉 This has been a month of pushing, styles and a whole lot more. I’ve got some catching up to do on reading your posts too. The writing conference I went to was good, and I feel like I came home with some useful tools. I was soooo tired though. I left to get there at 3 a.m. on Saturday morning and got home about 11:30 p.m. the same day. Didn’t make it to church, and then woke up with a stiff neck. Good to be back to writing.

  7. brian says:

    really a wonderful and sensual first piece….

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      😀 Thank you. I really like that one. It was inspired by my husband. When he comes in from the woods, I love to smell him. Being out there changes his scent–the outdoors is my favorite of his colognes, so to speak.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

