RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 15

This night’s canopy unveils
her verbal portrait
untainted by a heavy air.
Delicate secret thawing
softens hard, cold mantle
from within.
Earth alone smiles
in reflection,
ripples meaning.
Parallel
toes in sand,
just like the first time,
baking them into tomorrow.
Trembling poet’s heart
pressed against these
printed promises,
budding purpose.
Loudly blue jays scold,
“These are the dead lines.”
One grips the pencil
as the paintbrush,
compose
clouded reverie.

for RWP Day 15

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

storm passed
all stilled–aftermath
dead lines

for Poetic Asides Day 15

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 15

  1. luiscongdon says:

    Earth alone smiles

    baking them into tomorrow.

    pressed against these
    printed promises,

    One grips the pencil
    as the paintbrush,

    These are great lines. In writing groups sometimes we use a line to get use started, something to just get us started. I think I could have fun with any of the above lines, I especially like “Baking them in tomorrow.”

    http://www.lovelikewater.wordpress.com

    • Yousei Hime says:

      luiscongdon,
      Thank you for your visit and your comments. Those are some of my favorite lines as well. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving your link. I’ll be sure to visit soon. You are welcome here.

  2. hames1977 says:

    i love this line ““These are the dead lines.”
    One grips the pencil
    as the paintbrush,
    compose
    clouded reverie.
    so rich in beautiful imagery.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      hames1977,
      Thank you for your comments. I’m not sure about this poem. It is really just an experiment at using favorite lines from other poems I’ve written. Glad you like those parts. Thank you for your visits and comments.

  3. Viola says:

    I forgot to say that I love the haiku too.

  4. Viola says:

    Very well done Yousei. I sooooooooo do love this style. Here are a couple of lines that I just really like, they ring like bells in my ears. Wonderfullly done.

    Earth alone smiles
    in reflection
    ripples meaning.

    Trembling poet’s heart
    pressed against these
    printed promises,
    budding purpose

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Viola,
      Thank you for another visit and comment. I stopped by to read the poem you left a link for on another comment. Very nice. Couldn’t get my computer to cooperate to leave a comment. Glad you enjoyed Day 15 poems.

  5. brian says:

    these are the dead lines…how haunting…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Lol. I’m glad someone is reading these. I’m firing them off as fast as I can write them, and I’m afraid with that many posts, some will get lost. Glad you found something in these poems. Thanks for the comment.

  6. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Don’t you just hate deadlines? They interfere with life.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      I am definitely feeling their interference this month. I am sooooo far behind in my poem-a-day writing. I’m going to finish them though (even if they are a tad late). ;)

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

