RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 12

Shrouded Revel

When Sorrow waltzed the midnight masquerade
I watched her glitter fiercely.
Could a star, no, a sun,
not pale compared to silver and saffron?
Stop my doubts and gird life
for courage–I request a dance.
“Death is next,” her card says.
He, in stately domino, bows and
kindly withdraws at her shy nod.
Stopped in time, circling triplet sway,
for a smile she rests in my arms–
me, a simple poet.

for RWP Day 12

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Taft

where there was cotton
wind turbines grow in dust fields
past home dissolute
greyhound streets are pride barren
reality grieves memory

for Poetic Asides Day 12

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Poetry, Prompts, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 12

  1. Taft, CA or Taft,TX? I am almost certain it has to be Texas. I don’t know how much cotton has been grown in CA. To me it seems really close to polished – just a teeny bit of fine tuning is all…

    http://existentialpoet.com/2010/04/18/cactus-kitty/

    This includes a photo I took of one of my outdoor cats snoozing on one of her favorite spots. An odd place, but you know cats!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      You’re right. It’s Texas. Thanks for the input. I still feel like its a bit too vague to have any real meaning for those outside Texas. Going to check your photo now.

  2. That first one was beautiful! Great writing!

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I used to love to dance. It often would wear out the sorrow and joy would step in. Music would take us on a magic carpet ride. Returning happy and able to sleep that deep relaxed way.

  4. william says:

    I think your work gets better by the day, nice concept in poetry xx

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 12 « Shiteki Na Usagi -- Topsy.com

  6. shakira says:

    I really like the first one, very different from your usual attempt. Well done!

  7. Simple yet so complex…good poem!

  8. Technobabe says:

    Stopped just in time, not really the time to go yet. Not exactly a simple poet. Nothing simple about the poetry at all.

  9. brian says:

    oh now that was wicked cool…just dont pull them too close as you dance…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Glad you liked it. This was a challenging prompt for me, and I’m not sure I understood the concept. But . . . as far behind as I am, I stepped out on the floor and gave it a whirl.

  10. Viola says:

    I enjoyed reading this wonderful poem that is nicely penned.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

