RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 11

The Last Meal

I’m so sorry.
I promised it would be
just the two of us.
In my defense,
you know how he is–
you alone is
never enough.
He insisted on
having his favorites.
If it had been
you and me,
the meal
would have been
simply perfect,
and
I wouldn’t bear this
guilty weight.
The choice would be simple.
Ignore all:
those saucy veggies he likes;
that smarmy buttered bread,
always invited;
the fattened meat and
forever spouses potatoes;
and those decadent desserts,
the blatant temptresses.
I don’t need
him or his like.
I just want
you and me,
my salad
with a little
dressing on the side.

for RWP Day 11

for Poetic Asides Day 11

and for Monday Poetry Train Revisited

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 11

  1. Dee says:

    heartless tarts lol – so true. As someone who constantly battles a love of cheesecake I so understand!

  2. I like the metaphor in this….beautiful. cheers!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Emmanuel Ibok
      Welcome and thank you for coming by, reading my humble writing and leaving your encouraging comment. I’ll return the visit soon. Come by any time.

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    What would life be without all those decadent desserts and sauces??

  4. Aaron Moman says:

    I really like this. I can’t quite isolate why, but it speaks to me. Very well done.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Aaron Moman,
      I’m glad you like it. I know what you mean about the not knowing why. We like what we like, and I find that many times something touches me and confounds explanation. I’m just glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment.

  5. Viola says:

    Very nice my friend. Awesome!

  6. roxie says:

    I see everything on this tempting table! My favorite line: the fattened meat and forever spouses potatoes – I will always link meat & potatoes, but you did it beautifully, forever spouses, sheer genius! Thank you!

  7. Technobabe says:

    Sassy little bit of writing here, my dear. Like it.
    I like the little “spouses” when referring to the potatoes that forever accompany meat. Great way to marry them at the table. Darling way to “speak to the salad”.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      You are so good at getting what I am writing. Speaking to the salad is exactly what is suppose to be happening in the poem. (That’s what the prompt was–speak to an object you didn’t choose.) 😀 I feel like a teacher who’s student got every question right. Thanks for sharing these with me.

  8. brian says:

    oh, this one was a bit chilly…alone with the salad…hmmm…

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 11 « Shiteki Na Usagi -- Topsy.com

  10. william says:

    lovely, a mouth watering piece, mmmm made me hungry xx

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

