RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 3

soul deep

I am not
afraid of anything
but
I do have
nightmares

occasionally

when I look deep
in your eyes
all I see are
piles of laundry and yesterday’s dirty dishes
Taco Bell again for dinner
the same warm-ups with new stains,
gray hair
nothing much

Yet you point out
our friendless marriage

Were you here today?
Is this all you got done today?
What else did you do with your time?

Why won’t you talk to me?
Why are you so mad?
What do you mean you can’t trust me?
share my dreams and desires only to be shot down again . . .

And what about those selfish children,
so like their mother
playing Final Fantasy and raising Pokémon
and avoiding homework like the bill collector
no gratitude for those who provide
bedrooms and grades are pigsties
making everyone miserable
no one’s fault but their own
except hers

another point–
you’re a teacher
maybe you should work again
your parents raised you
my parents raised me
why can’t you be responsible too
maybe you should work again
why can’t you be like everyone else
if you can’t do it at home, then
maybe you should work again

fruitless writing
it’s a hobby
shouldn’t you . . .
you ought to . . .
no more than an hour a day
ok . . . two at the most
really, I support you . . . so you say

I am not
afraid of anything
but
I do have
mirror dreams
failure

[for RWP NaPoWriMo Day 3]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Partly Me

more of me resides
in seventeen syllables
than treads home’s wood floors

[for Poetic Asides Day 3]

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Prompts, Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to RWP NaPoWriMo/Poetic Asides Day 3

  1. Laura Maria says:

    This is a really great piece. Definitely one I can read over and over. Thanks for sharing this and for visiting my blog.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Laura,
      Welcome. Glad you liked the piece. I’d forgotten about it until I went looking for older stuff to post at the Poetry Pantry. Glad I could share it with you. Enjoyed the visit to your site as well.

  2. I think many people can relate to your deeply emotional words. A lovely and courageous piece of writing.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog earlier. It gave me the opportunity to come by and read your words. 🙂

  3. The first so sad..I have often beat myself up because of my inadequacies…writing has freed me to believe in myself again…I love your haiku…keep up your writing…you are so talented!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Susie,
      Welcome and thank you for reading and commenting. Thanks for the encouragement too. Much needed today. You’re site is beautiful ( I liked the bloom-to-seed poem). I enjoyed my visit. Come again for you are welcome here.

  4. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    The first poem is very sad to me. I hope it isn’t an autobiography. The second is very telling.

  5. kseverny says:

    i’m blown away by that first poem.
    i like the haiku too

  6. william says:

    there we go, now advancing into poetry and william is tres impressed xx

    • Yousei Hime says:

      william,
      Thank you for your continuing support and encouragement. I will tease you a little. I debate the “advancing into poetry” since haiku is a form of poetry. 😉 I am really enjoying expanded the writing experience though. Glad you liked them.

  7. azfree says:

    Re: “Partly Me.”

    Very nice haiku. Such wisdom in 17 syllables! The words stand on solid ground.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      azfree,
      Thank you for your visit and your compliment. “The words stand on solid ground.” Those words support and warm me. Thank you so much. Please come by anytime.

  8. Jingle says:

    I am thrilled to see you write poems, instead of Haikus..
    what a beautiful leap!
    😉

  9. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/04/04/easter-sunday-awards-to-fill-your-basket/

    awards for Easter Sunday,
    Hope that you enjoy some,
    feel free to take!
    😉

  10. Viola says:

    A marriage without love is very emotional. You have beautifully penned this poem about marriage without love.

  11. lesliepaints says:

    Made me hurt. That is a sign of good writing to bring out feelings in the reader…….. The real punch, however, was the “Partly Me”. I am intrigued when a writer can condense something so powerful into a few words. Beautiful writing. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      leslie,
      Ah, you caught that with the “Partly Me,” did you? I thought they were well paired (not planned either). Thank you for your encouragement. I’m enjoying this new endeavor.

  12. I can tell you that I went through all that in my ex marriage.
    Brilliant Yousei!

    I would like to wish you and your family
    Many Easter Blessings and have you a great Easter!
    hugs
    shakira

  13. slpmartin says:

    Wow what a strong poem about a relationship without true love and the problems embedded in it….this is just brilliant…absolutely loved it!

  14. brian says:

    snap…tight and i hope it is not true…heavy words…a deep sadness runs through them…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Thanks for stopping by and reading these newest poems. Parts are true. I think it would be difficult to write well and deeply about something we know nothing about. Thank you for your encouragment. 😀

  15. Technobabe says:

    Sometimes nightmares attach themselves to the reality of life and life becomes a nightmare. The worst part about the first poem is “friendless marriage”. Worst to me anyway. Saddest to me anyway.

    The haiku conjures up pictures of someone being walked on like a wood floor. Also sad.

  16. trisha says:

    Dear friend,

    Well, all the awards which I have received are here to share, you can pick up all of them, or any ones you like. I will be glad if you do. I will include your name in the pages after you pick your award up.

    http://mydomainpvt.wordpress.com/awards/

    with lots of love.

  17. trisha says:

    beautiful portrayal of a loveless marriage. you have written it accurately and wonderfully.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

