Beautiful Haiga

lucky usagi
onigiri–friendship springs
from simple brushstrokes

*******************************************************************

Akita International Haiku Network site has just concluded a five-part series of haiga by Masuda Aika and her mother Masuda Junko.  Haiga is a pairing of art with haiku.  There may be a direct connection of meaning and subject between the two forms, or there may be a connection of juxtaposition.  Please take a little time to view this lovely, expressive form.  There is a wonderful little surprise at the end of Part 5.

Don’t forget to visit the Thursday Poet’s Rally (even if it isn’t Thursday).

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiga, Haiku, Interesting Blogs, Poetic Rabbit, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Beautiful Haiga

  1. Yousei Hime says:

    Translation of Junko’s Usagi haiga:

    In the main hall

    praying for good luck

    winter light outside

    by Junko

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 12 (April 1-7, 2010) « Jingle

  3. nanno1982 says:

    thank you for introducing us to beautiful poetry 🙂

  4. Hello, Yousei,
    I’m glad there’s a word for this in Japanese! English has a lot of words, but not for everything. I hadn’t seen you around for a while, so I thought I’d better swing by this side of the blogosphere. It’s easier for me to do so on the weekend. 🙂

    And perhaps you can drop by and see my “new” haiga header on existentialpoet.com! It’s been up for a while, actually, and will probably be changed before too long!

    I’ve been considering just how to make this work for a while, so I could start creating visual art again, somehow. When I get off work every day, I just don’t feel like sawing and sanding like I used to, way back when.

    Anyway, I told the ex-curator of the local downtown art center that I had an idea to create an art installation with painted gallery walls and my haiku on the walls. She liked that idea of course. I don’t know if that will happen any time soon, but I will be printing out some haiga in the computer lab where I work… actually started that already. Just need more time to get my visual ideas and haiku together…

    So thanks for introducing me to the word haiga. I needed it!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      E.P.
      Congrats on getting back into art and wedding it with your writing. That is fantastic. Love the header too. Look forward to seeing what comes of the new project.

  5. lesliepaints says:

    Beautiful Haiku honoring Haiga on Akita Haiku blog, Yousei.

  6. Viola says:

    A very nice post

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Viola,
      Welcome back. Thank you for the nice comment. Glad you liked the post. Hope you had a chance to visit the other site and see the haiga. They are worth the time.

  7. william says:

    welcome back dear, this work was superb xx

  8. Thanks for linking us to the haiga. I love the way the calligraphied words are part of the art! So nice that there is a special haiga done for you!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jacquie,
      You are very welcome for the link. You’ve reminded me that I meant to link your haiku/photo post on one of my posts. Thanks. Very glad you liked the haiga. I think I’ll try some of my own when school’s out.

  9. slpmartin says:

    Just took a look at the Haiga by Masuda Aika…just lovely…thanks for the suggestion.

  10. brian says:

    you paint friendship beautifully with your words…

  11. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/thursday-is-awards-shower-day-this-week-week-11-participants/

    the most valuable poet award for you,
    keep it,
    it is not going to be rewarded again until 10m weeks later.
    enjoy!
    😉

  12. Technobabe says:

    Awww, how nice. They did one with a bunny and sent to you. NIce.

  13. I see you are fine… GOOD .. I was worried. hugs,shakira

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shakira,
      Thank you for your concern. I trying to catch up today before the weekend rush of homework. You should see a post or two over the weekend. Enjoy your weekend. I’ll try to make the funnies soon.

  14. Jingle says:

    yes, you are lucky and cool!
    Happy Friday!

  15. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 11 (March 24-30, 2010) « Jingle

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

