Thursday Poets’ Rally

not clutching swamp grass
but piercing cloudless blue sky–
one red-winged blackbird

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve decided to make Thursday Poet Rally nominations/awards the exception to my award limit.  Getting an award for poetry, the main purpose of my blog, is a good exception.  Thank you to Dustus of The Dustus Blog for the nomination at last week’s Thursday Poets’ Rally.  Thank you Jingle for the Thursday Poets’ Rally.  The Rally is a fantastic place to find good poetry and good blogs.  Do visit if you have the time.  Participate if you have the desire.  Hope to see you there.

My nomination for this week’s Rally is Gerardine of My Walking Path

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Awards/Honors, Haiku, Interesting Blogs, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Thursday Poets’ Rally

  1. souldose says:

    Beautiful poem as always, visiting you is still one of my greatest joys.

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 11 (March 24-30, 2010) « Jingle

  3. Hi Rabbit-One!
    Your choice of non-action – actions words is engaging.
    Non-clutching—and piercing–
    nice contrast and integration of images using these words for connecting earth to sky and a bird in flight—yes, birds do seem to ‘pierce’ the sky as they fly.
    nice.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Buffalo Gal,
      Thank you for so aptly analyzing my little haiku. In a very nerdy way, it is flattering to have that depth of analysis. Plus it is great when others discover something that was either subconscious or even unintended. Love having you visit. :D

  4. This brings to mind such a vivid image. Brilliantly done!

  5. jruthkelly says:

    it’s amazing to me how the piercing blue sky and image of the grass can make the red-wing blackbird spring to life in my mind. wonderful weaving of words here…hugs…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hey Cuz!
      I actually heard a radio report yesterday that said redwinged blackbirds were the true heralds of spring. First the boys show up and set up territories, and then the girls arrive and scout out the best spot. One male can have as many as 15 females. Who’d want that many. ;)

  6. blissbait says:

    stretching towards spring
    ev’rything inside me coils
    i’m ready to pounce!

    Hello! :)

  7. trisha says:

    wonderful poem and wonderful nomination.

  8. blissbait says:

    HEY! I”M LOVING YOUR NEW BANNER! BEAUTIFUL! And Your poem is lovely. Thank You. I want to ‘pierce cloudless blue sky’!!!! Congratulations on Your award and Cheers and Namaste. :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Blissbeam,
      Happy you came by. I’m loving the new banner too. Haiku turned out alright as well. I really liked that art on your Crone-Goddess post. Subtle but with hidden depth. :). Thanks for stopping in.

  9. purple says:

    I just wished to say I stopped by and enjoyed my visit. Your creative versatility is smile-inducing and inspiring and encouraging to me! But fresh ideas come from planted seeds and you always provide many future flowers! Keep it up.

  10. Very nice haiku! I like the feeling of upward movement from the grass to the sky.

  11. Rajlakshmi says:

    Lovely haiku beautiful imagery. Congrats on the award.

  12. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I can see the redwing doing his display for his intended. Beautiful haiku.

  13. Simple and elegant, just the way I like them. ^_^

  14. Beautiful poem. The words “piercing cloudless blue sky” will follow me all day.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      taramillerwrites,
      Welcome to my blog. I’m touched the image from my poem stayed with you today. Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. I hope you’ll come back. :)

  15. william says:

    beautiful Haiku Yousei, you are so good at these and congrats on your award :)

  16. kseverny says:

    Your haiku is as usual. wonderful

  17. Well, this is my first time here, and it seems you are doing well in the poetry world, I shall look around before i depart. pleasure meeting you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      shoelessboywonder,
      Welcome to my site. First, I love your name. Second, I’m glad you liked the place and hope you’ll come back again. Third, I’ll be over soon to visit you spot. :) Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment.

  18. megzone says:

    wwwoooowww…that was one awesome haiku there :)
    loved it…
    and congratulations to you..
    this is the first time im visiting your blog and im sure m gonna keep visitingr regularly..

    im here from Jingle’s Rally..
    you can check out my poem at
    http://megzone.wordpress.com/2010/03/18/thursday-poets-rally-miss-interpreted/

    • Yousei Hime says:

      megzone,
      Thank you for your visit, your sweet comment, and for leaving a link. I’m visiting as soon as I finish typing this reply. I’m glad you plan to come back. You’re always welcome here.

  19. anthonynorth says:

    Cool haiku. Enjoyed that.

  20. Ji says:

    cool acceptance post!
    beautiful Haiku!
    Hope that you have fun today!
    cheers, ;)

  21. Pingback: Nancy’s Pond « Leslie White

  22. brian says:

    nice. i can see this one and it is peaceful…great haiku. congrats on the award!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      I don’t mind writing things with open interpretations, or even poems that require a bit of thought, but I never set out to write something confusing. Glad you like this one.

  23. lesliepaints says:

    Ah. A beautiful vision of a red wing blackbird!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I don’t remember seeing any growing up in south Texas. Probably aren’t there. They are a lovely bird, and I always watch for them in the spring. Thanks for visiting. :)

  24. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 10 (March 18-March 24, 2010) « Jingle

  25. wordwand says:

    a lovely thursday haiku.thanks for your participation.

  26. suzicate says:

    Lovely haiku! I wonder where that blackbird is headed!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      suzicate,
      Lol. I wondered the exact same thing. I’ve seen more around my home since then. I tried to get a picture today, but it flew away before I could get a decent shot. I’ll keep trying. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  27. Technobabe says:

    The red winged blackbird wants to soar! Like all of us.
    Nice haiku, my friend.
    Congrats on the award. Of course you would accept a poetry award. Close to your heart. Hugs.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe
      I knew you’d understand. I usually see the blackbirds on the reeds in the swamps near us. I saw this one when I was driving the other day, just happened to glance put the window.

  28. Lovely header, Yousei.

    hugs
    shakira

  29. CONGRATULATIONS, so well deserved.

    Here from Jingle!
    Welcome to the Rally!

    Happy Thursday!

    Did you know that I am now hosting a new meme? Find out more Blog of the Week Please join us for the WEEKEND FUNNIES. Week #2 is this Friday to Sunday (March 26-29). See you there? hugs shakira Oscar Wilde-The IRISH Gentleman ART OF GENEROSITY

    UNSPOKEN BREAKFAST FOR THE SOUL

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Shakira,
      I visited your Weekend Funnies and tried to put up a link. Your site is a bit complicated for my poor dialup connection. I am preparing a post for this next weekend so I can participate. I think it is a great idea. Thanks for the notice.

      • shakira says:

        Sorry about that.. you know how blogger is and it is probably my fault too.

        To solve the problem, for now, I am putting up a list of the members on top of my page, with just a handful, it is more practical , don’t you think? Otherwise, if it gets to be a PAIN, it is no longer FUNNY . I am such a bad joker? lol

        I will put you up ok?

        hugs
        shakira

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Shakira,
          Thanks. I’ll let you know how it works out.

          • shakira says:

            Don’t you worry about it…
            If you want to .. then we welcome you,
            just take your time.
            Always next week?

            Just come over, if you are free and visit the others for a free giggle?

            My SUPERHERO SUNDAY my Sunday 160 and Microfiction Monday for your perusal
            and
            SUNDAY STEALING!

            Have a BLESSED SUNDAY and a FRUITFUL WEEK AHEAD!

            hugs
            shakira

            • Yousei Hime says:

              Shakira :D Thanks.

            • Yousei,

              How are you? Just so you know I have been thinking about you.. been missing you , hugs, shakira

            • Yousei Hime says:

              shakira,
              Thank you for the visit and the concern. The end of the report card period approaches and neither of my boys is in good shape, grade-wise. We’ve been working like made to get things done and turned in to improve their averages. Whew. It’s not over yet–next week. I sure wish they were more independently responsible. :( I’m a day late at the Rally, but I will finish it today. Look for me there. Thanks again for your kind note.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

