Haiku Bones–Infestation

among evergreens
tree frogs court, “creep, creep, creep”–love
song infestation

for Haiku Bones prompt infestation

and Jingle’s Thursday Poets’ Rally

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Haiku Bones–Infestation

  1. trisha says:

    its cute. really 🙂

  2. absurdoldbird says:

    Lovely!
    Currently, our pond is full of very happy frogs!
    🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      absurdoldbird,
      Welcome back! I meant to tell you last time, I love your name. We’ve got frogs too, but I can’t tell if they are still alive or hybernating. The pond still has ice on parts of it. I’m afraid we may have lost some of them. My tree frogs haven’t actually started their songs this year. I’m looking forward to that. Thanks for coming by and sharing a note.

  3. Amity says:

    Even frogs enjoy their existence…what more with man?

    I love this one Yousei!

  4. Alan Summers says:

    Frogs are great aren’t they? 😉

    a sudden rainstorm
    the queenslander’s plumbing
    reverberates with frogs

    Alan Summers
    Azami haiku magazine, Osaka, Japan (1997)
    Special Spring/Summer Edition, ed. Alan Summers

    .

  5. azfree says:

    This is the kind of infestation I like!

  6. Tacy says:

    Hey Yousei! I love this haiku. I just put up some brand-spanking-new pictures on my blog. Just anted to let you know. 😀

  7. doubtfulpoet says:

    I love the simplicity yet complexity of haiku! Sweet stuff! Hoe you are well!!

  8. samanthayeh says:

    despite the simplicity, i feel that your poems capture the true objectives of a haiku ~ each piece illustrates a story that is more pronounced through imagination than words, but which words have induced. they’re absolutely lovely ♥ ~

    thank you. for sharing your work and for the kind words and welcome to the rally : )

  9. Aw, but they’re so cute! I wish we had such an infestation round these parts…

  10. David King says:

    Wonderful blog. I’m entranced. Loved the frog Haiku.

  11. Stan Ski says:

    The Frog Chorus – I can hear it now.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Stan Ski,
      I welcome the silly croakers. I’ve had quite enough of winter. I won’t really hear them for a while yet. But I anticipate their songs this year. 🙂

  12. blissbait says:

    OH! That’s just ROCKIN’! I’m very visual, so…You just gave me a very funny slimely romantic picture along with a great giggle! Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

  13. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Just this past weekend did we hear our first peepers. Such a happy exciting song. Love your haiku.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      Oh, lucky you. It’s still too cold here, and I’d say we’re weeks away. But it was easy to remember their songs from the past several years, they are such enthusiastic serenaders. 😉 Thanks for stopping by and for sharing your moment.

  14. rdl says:

    lovely haiku!!

  15. Sandy says:

    True, true, but haven’t heard any yet, here.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sandy,
      I haven’t really heard any either. The memories of their songs came back when I saw the grass appear as the snow melted. I imagine it will be a while yet. They’re probably still sleeping. It did get to 60 yesterday. So . . . 🙂

  16. william says:

    Yousei I think u captured more than a frog symphony I think u captured a world symphony with this Haiku xx

    • Yousei Hime says:

      william,
      Thank you. You are always so encouraging in your comments. If I have captured a world symphony, then I am moving closer to writing good haiku. Thank you for visiting, my friend.

  17. David Rheins says:

    infestation and frogs in the name of love. big smile.

  18. I.S. says:

    if only love would infest all who hears its melody…

    ~IS

  19. BFG says:

    Haiku! Made me think of home. Thanks!

  20. gabrielle says:

    What a beautiful infestation and sign of spring!

  21. slpmartin says:

    I’ve always wonder what the frogs do all winter…are they composing next spring’s musical score….like the poem. 🙂

  22. lesliepaints says:

    I’m chuckling a little with this, Yousei. I love the “creep, creep, creep”. I just hope they stay in the pine trees. Nice haiku. Vivid image, once again.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      It’s still a little early here for my symphony. I believe they’re still hibernating. I keep listening for them, thinking of last year’s choruses. 🙂 Thanks for the comment and visit.

  23. anthonynorth says:

    I can picture that, too.
    You’ll find mine here.

  24. Technobabe says:

    Wow, I am really liking love song infestation. Like listening to a choir of tree frogs. Beautiful and earthy.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      Glad you like the frog haiku. It is finally feeling and looking like spring here. Most of my grass has lost its snow blanket and temps hit 60 yesterday. 😯 It felt awesome. I even saw some daffodil shoots coming up. 🙂

  25. kseverny says:

    wonderful yousei.
    You’ve done it again

  26. Jim says:

    That’s a very nice thought, Yousei. And written very nicely too. I wish we had an infestation, from where we live occasionally we hear only one or two frogs way down by the lake croaking. I’d rather have your chorus. 🙂
    Thank you for this nice prompt. It is refreshing to read the various approaches taken.
    ..

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jim,
      Thank you for your visit and kinds words. Most times, I enjoy their songs. It tickles me to hear them sing so loudly and energetically. Glad you like the prompt too. I agree that reading different takes on it are a great part participating. Thank you again for stopping by.

  27. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 9 (March 11-17, 2010) « Jingle

  28. souldose says:

    It’s so bad when frogs enter the house and you see this big brown or blackish jumper just jumping around, they’re my aunt’s biggest fear… Great poem!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      SeraphSili,
      😀 Glad you liked it. I wouldn’t want frogs in my house either. Thankfully, they’ve never made it in. Doesn’t stop the ladybugs though. From spring to winter, the sneak in in an amazing number. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

  29. brian miller says:

    love song infestation…i like that…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      Thanks. I was trying to capture that frog symphony. They are amazingly loud. When we leave our windows open at night (a few more weeks from now), they can actually keep you awake. 😯

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

