Word of the Month Contest–March

It is time for David L Harrison’s Word of the Month Poetry Contest.  The word/theme for March is “life.”   The rules are simple.  Post your poem in the comments section at the appropriate site below.  Young poets will need their teacher to coordinate the entry.  Make your post before midnight March 24th.  Please give it a try.  Its fun and the feedback is great.

Word of the Month Contest (Adult)

Word of the Month Contest (Young Poets)

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Word of the Month Contest–March

  1. trisha says:

    interesting contest.

  2. Hi Yousei –

    I tried entering this a day or two ago but it doesn’t show on their contest thread and people visiting my blog can’t find it there either. I just tried re-entering it and I get the “duplicate comment detected” message.

    Anyway I put it on my blog and it goes:

    If Life Had a Wife

    If Life had a wife
    There would be far less strife
    Yet I know not just whom to suggest.
    You would think someone dead
    Should make Life’s better half
    Yet the dead-full are dreadful to wed;
    And a difficult toast it would certainly make
    For the Best Man when lifting his glass:
    “To Life and to Death,
    “Hope you’re blessed with long life”
    Would cut Death to the quick like a knife.
    Besides, who for Best Man could Life ever choose –
    Minus Life minus Death and who’s left?

    Copyright 2010 Percy Bisque Silley
    All Rights Reserved
    May be photocopied and hung to the fridge by magnets only.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sir Percy,
      Welcome back. I am sooo glad I check my spam today, because I found your delightful poem languishing there. Revived and included in my comments now, I hope it is happier. You should try leaving a comment about your missing entry on another page of the web site. David is pretty busy, but I believe he has occasional help sorting thru the technical aspects of his blog. It’s not the first time someone’s entry didn’t show up right away. I haven’t posted mine yet. I really like yours, and it is very unique. I will comment on it at David’s site as soon as I see it there. Thank you for sharing it with me. 😀

  3. souldose says:

    Hey girl, I just thought why not and entered, it helps to keep busy with something else either than sleeping in bed listening to pains… Thank you, I’ll enter more like this now because of you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      SeraphSili,
      Great idea! Entering contests is a motivation to write and a distraction from other things. Be sure and check back from time to time once you post your poem. Others will comment on it. Look forward to reading your creation.

  4. dustus says:

    Yousei, for sharing your great work, please accept a nomination from me for today’s rally. http://dustus.wordpress.com
    Thank you 🙂

  5. Thanks for this link.

    The real meaning of life is silliness but we have lost our way in the Serious.

    Gravely,

    Sir Percy Bisque Silley, Knight Dauntless & Silliness Crusader

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sir Percy,
      Happily do I greet thee, Knight Dauntless. Hast thou the right of it, thou dost. Serious is a villian to smite, and thou our Crusader. Strike a blow for life. Strike thine pen to paper and poem to post. I do beseech thee.

  6. waystationone says:

    nice. thanks for the reminder…

  7. kseverny says:

    this is interesting might have a go

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

