Preparing the Garden

burning old branches
winter flickering to spring
welcome bliss blossoms

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Preparing the Garden

  1. fiveloaf says:

    Decided to award you with the Beautiful Blogger Award and the Honesty Scrap Award. Details at my Blog..

  2. jruthkelly says:

    this is beautiful…bliss blossoms! i’m there. ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs to you…

  3. I love this. In some way, this inspires me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. hellohunter says:

    Awesome. Although it was a haiku, short and simple, it had alot of diversity with the words. ๐Ÿ™‚
    (part of the poetry rally)
    hellohunter

  5. Nice image of movement from winter to spring. Here in Vancouver, we’re experiencing an early spring, which I’m enjoying (although it’s not so good for the Winter Olympics).

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Jacqueline!
      Glad you liked the haiku. Have you made it over to the Olympics? Seems like one of those opportunities that shouldn’t be missed. Thanks for commenting and stopping by. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. rdl says:

    ah yes, hope springs eternal!
    nicely done!

  7. kseverny says:

    this one gives me such a nice feeling

  8. william says:

    congratulations dear i have an award for you xx

    please collect from this link ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://williamm49.blogspot.com/p/awards.html

  9. Julie says:

    How do you do it, Cuz? Are you a psychic? Hubby and I were burning broken branches this weekend. It’s the nicest night I’ve had in ages…just sitting around the fire under the stars with everything smelling like spring. This poem describes the feeling exactly. I love it!

    “Winter flickering to spring” is awesome! It’s a beautiful image and not just an ordinary, everyday way to describe the melting of winter. In other words, I love the fresh use of language. Beautiful work!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      CuznJ,
      Not psychic, just wishful. We got somewhere around 6-8 more inches of snow today. I’m glad to hear you and your husband shared that lovely pre-garden ritual. Thanks for the complement and the visit. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. blissbait says:

    Still burning those old branches. But, oh, springs deliciousness is tickling my nose like crazy! Hope the schoolwork’s flowing! Big Hugs! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Blissbeam,
      We’re about halfway through it. (Hurray!) Even better, we have been gifted with a snow day which means he has a whole day to finish catching up. I am so grateful. Thanks for the hugs. Right back atcha!

  11. Tacy says:

    I have Spring Fever! I’m getting jittery in school! ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. souldose says:

    You are talented beyond words, painting a picture using 3 short sentences. That’s genius.

  13. adam says:

    Yousei, very nice. So ready for spring!

  14. Hiruta says:

    How impressive!
    I’ve been thinking of such haiku as yours these days. and I’m going to post it on my blog ‘AKITAHAIKU’.
    But you just wrote such haiku a few days earlier than I did.
    Maybe we’ve had the same expectation for the early coming of spring as a bright light in our lives.
    Last of all, I love your haiku. The words you used, ‘burning old…, flickering to spring, and welcome…’ are very splendid.
    I feel as if cherry blossoms are in full bloom.
    Thank you again.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hiruta-San,
      Welcome back. I am not surprised you are thinking of Spring. So many visiting bloggers are saying much the same. Unfortunately for me, we are to get about 6-10 inches more snow over the next few days. I hope you will take pictures of and post this year’s cherry blossoms when they arrive. I loved the pictures you posted last time. I look forward to reading your haiku. Thank you for coming by and sharing your thoughts with me.

  15. Things to look forward to.
    How wonderful is that?

    One of your best Haiku yet,
    I love it, Yousei.
    I needed something to lift me up.
    Thank you.

    hugs
    shakira

  16. Jingle says:

    enjoy an evening filled with fresh air
    and hopeful thoughts.

    cheers.

  17. This is one of my favorites of yours… it has three crystal-clear images and speaks a message between its lines that I thoroughly enjoy. Agreed that “flickering” is an excellent way to describe the change of seasons… though you must be in a lucky part of the world, the snow is still lying heavily on the ground here. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph,
      Praise from the master. You have made my day. Now, I would never call Michigan a lucky part of the world, not these days at least. No, this poem is just a strong bit of wishful thinking. I hear we’re to get more snow tomorrow, Monday and maybe Tuesday. The only silver lining out of that would be snow days for my kids. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. Technobabe says:

    Flickering is a good word for it. One day sun is out and snow starts melting and then the clouds take over and the sun just brings light and not warmth. But I know this will change again and I will be enjoying the next season. I enjoy your writing as you know and I wish you many bliss blossoms.

  19. william says:

    lovely post dear, yes we soon know when spring is near with the budding of the leaves on trees, very descriptive post xx

  20. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Are you working in your garden? This haiku might tempt one to get out and do what they can. The birds are singing here this morning despite the snow on the ground. Some has melted away, maybe that is what has triggered the chorus.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      No, I’m not at it yet. Still too much snow and the ground is too hard. The haiku was just a product of cabin fever. I have seen some buds on the older trees. Perhaps it won’t be too long.

  21. Jingle says:

    spring is in the sir,

    beautiful Haiku!

  22. blissbait says:

    mmmm. mmmmmm. mmmmmmmm. Everybody’s bustin’ out with spring. I love this. I do believe You left this gift in my room, unless I’m spacing. Which happens! It was glorious. The other day I had an appointment and purposely parked blocks away so I could walk through a park. The grass was GGREEEEN and SOFT. I took off my shoes. Heaven. And the ground was beaming with tiny flowers. EVERYWHERE. Spring is sprunging for sure! Yipeeeee! Thanks for this loveliness! Cheers and Namaste. ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. brian miller says:

    you never cease to amaze me…beautiful.

  24. Yousei Hime says:

    Flor Gurner,
    Thank you for coming by and leaving a comment. I’m so glad you liked the haiku. Hope you’ll stop by again soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. lesliepaints says:

    Beautiful haiku, Yousei. I noticed yesterday that the sap must be starting to run in some trees. The branches on the hard maple next door are pinking up on the ends. But….they say ice and snow for Sunday night. I guess a few more storms are fine as spring will soon follow.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I noticed buds on our oak trees just today. The limbs on the willows seem to be changing color too. I know my sap is rising. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I’ll be very glad for Spring to be here.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

