Ideas for Improving Your Blog

Kathy Temean’s blog, Writing and Illustrating,  is one of my favorite sites.  She posts interesting and useful information on writing and publishing.  Today is no exception.

For those of us who blog, whether new or established, today’s post is a treasure–10 Reasons People Aren’t Commenting on Your Blog.

As I read through these reasons, I had several thoughts that fell into three categories:

  1. Cool, I do that already!
  2. Cool, I ought to do that.
  3. Not cool, I won’t do that anymore.

If you blog, I strongly suggest you visit her post.  After my visit I felt encouraged by what I already do and committed to changing a few things.  She is looking for other suggestions on how to improve blogs, too. 

If you visit, let me know what you found in the treasure chest.  Topaz is my favorite.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Ideas for Improving Your Blog

  1. Andrea says:

    Hello i am new here, just followed your comment from Greenbow. I like your posts here, very informative. I make sure i follow your suggestion of reading Kathy Temean’s blog. Also while still here and while you’re still in your hibernation mode, i am inviting you to visit my everlasting blooms, as in whole year-round blooms because i am from the tropics. Snow is alien to us. thank you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Andrea,
      Welcome and thank you for visiting. Kathy Temean’s blog always has good advice for writers and bloggers. I’ll come visit your blog soon. Thank you for leaving such a nice comment.

  2. An interesting article, Yousei.

    I love comments, and enjoy conversations on my blog, and generally agree with most of what was stated in the two articles.

    There was one point, though, that I don’t necessarily agree with. I can’t recall which article talked about posting regularly, but I don’t think it is so important.

    Obviously if you let months pass, people may not bother coming back to check on you. But if I have thoroughly enjoyed a blog, I subscribe. It really doesn’t bother me if they post daily or once a month! In fact, daily can be a bit much, as the pressure to comment is felt.

    In the midst of blogging, answering comments, visiting other blogs… a person must still live in order to not only fulfill life’s duties, but to remain interesting enough to have something to say 🙂

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that at the end of the day, unless you are blogging for business: it’s a hobby, a game, a bit of fun. It may polish your writing skills, introduce you to some cool people, and help you learn a few new things, but… I think it’s easy to lose perspective, and putting pressure on people to continuously pump out posts leads to poor quality offerings.

    That aside, it’s great to have people put this info out there. I agreed with much (coming from a commenting perspective) that was said, and particularly with the need to answer comments. I am often amazed that people will read a comment, and just …nothing. As a reflection of off line relationships, you are naturally drawn to those who show themselves friendly.

    Thanks for sharing, Yousei 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      B.B.,
      I had as much fun reading your other two comments as I did reading this one. 😉 I enjoyed them all. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and yourself with me. 🙂

    • ichabod says:

      Hi Yousei and BB;

      BB it I think your comment hit it on the proverbial nose. I would hate to keep track of my blog as I write too damn many posts, but I only spend a few minutes on each so it is not a major deal for me and I find it relaxes me, especially in the winter.

      What you say “I guess what I’m trying to say is that at the end of the day, unless you are blogging for business: it’s a hobby, a game, a bit of fun. It may polish your writing skills, introduce you to some cool people, and help you learn a few new things, but… I think it’s easy to lose perspective, and putting pressure on people to continuously pump out posts leads to poor quality offerings.”

      I have deleted many posts because the quality was that poor, imagine what the reader has to put up with? But that is a personal warp, not one I would recommend to most.

      In the end, I do it for enjoyment. If there was money to be had in it, I probably wouldn’t post as often. 🙂

      • Yousei Hime says:

        Sir Ichabod,
        I always enjoy your two cents. It’s worth so much more than most. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts and self.

      • Ah, Ichabod, my intention was not to cast aspersions on those who do blog frequently. There are different blogs I read for different reasons.

        Social blogs I follow that are very regular posters, (I dare not name a specific one, lest the author be offended at my coming description) are great for a diversion: a little mind candy. I enjoy them with the same delight I find in a bag of Baci (well, nearly. I am very partial to Baci chocolates). There is value in simply sharing daily thoughts with friends. 🙂

        Others, the type that make me think, applaud, rage, laugh, and ponder; I would not expect them to produce an article that could inspire such reactions on a daily basis – but I like them non the less for posting infrequently.

        I would encourage those who blog thoughtfully to take their time, because a community built around such a place will stand a little waiting, just as the very best friends in real life will be the same treasures should life leave them absent for a while.

  3. I.S. says:

    thank you so much for sharing this information. i am in definite need of help to make my blogs a success!

    cheers!

    ~IS

  4. kseverny says:

    she knows what she’s talking about.
    .
    for me comments are far more important than stats.
    .
    You already have the right idea, yousei.

  5. Man oh man am I learning so many new things. This has been one exciting week for me. Thank you for the link. I read and I didn’t realize the discipline I need to work on in posting. I’m going to work on this as a goal.

  6. Tacy says:

    She has great advice!

  7. roxieh says:

    Cool! you’re right about the 3 categories, my thoughts exactly! Thanks for keeping an eye out for helpful info for us. 8>

  8. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I wonder if people really do want a response to their comments left. I usually don’t respond to comments unless a question is asked. What I do is go to the person’s blog and comment about their post. Hmmmmm I love reading all my comments. I wonder if anyone comes back to see if there is a response. Blogger also makes it a little more tedious in that I can’t respond directly under the Commenters comment. My response would be down the line someplace. This post has given me some things to think about.

  9. william says:

    thanks darlin, very helpful..I am always looking to improve xx

  10. ichabod says:

    Hi Yousei;

    I haven’t read it yet and am planning to take a look at it later, but I don’t think you have a problem with comments, receiving them that is.

    My take on it is this. For you and Bliss and others who I have come to know, many who float in the same blog circle, the comments are largely due to the character of the writer as well as the content on the blog.

    You are a genuinely nice person with a great attitude and if shows and flows. 🙂

    People are drawn to this, leave a comment and love it when you respond. 🙂

    That is the secret.

    I write not to get comments. If I receive them I like it, obviously. I recognize that some of the stuff I write may be tiring, gets old or repetitive, but it is me, old and repetitive. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sir Ichabod,
      You are kind. I think your blog works very well, and you are patient with those who comment. I wouldn’t call you old and repetitive, just comfortable. 😉 Your topics may not be comfortable, but you are generously open-minded and invite deep, careful thought. I think we all balance one another. 🙂

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

