Persephone

snowdrops prod blankets
thawing under lighter days–
her return, bliss beams

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Welcome back, Miss Bliss

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Persephone

  1. trisha says:

    simply fantastic

  2. How interesting the things people respond to in poetry. I can’t get past the beauty of the sound of the word Persephone. I just kept saying over and over to myself. It’s strong and feminine and beautiful.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      HurleyBurleyGirl,
      I agree. Since my early years reading mythology, the name Persephone always did two things–perplexed me as to its pronunciation and fascinated me with its persona. Glad to see you. 🙂

  3. Sandy says:

    Lovely, I beam too, when I see them.

  4. Jill says:

    No, no more snow! I want hot weather!lol
    Nicely done!

  5. Julia Smith says:

    This makes me miss the snowdrops in my grandfather’s garden. Hope they’re still going strong.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Julia,
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I never had snowdrops, but my grandfather also had many different flowers around his place. My favorites were the huge southern magnolias though. I’m grateful my mother lives there now so I can still see them. Please come visit again. 🙂

  6. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    The snowdrops are definitely prodding the blankets here. I don’t see a melt in sight. I love the imagery of the prodding blankets. I will think about this when I jump under the covers tonight.

  7. Tacy says:

    I KNOW RIGHT?!?!?! We missed her more than it is possible to miss another human being. And now she’s back. 🙂

  8. This is so cool.
    I like the first line very much.

    Yousei, you and catgirllovehaiku are wonderful with Haiku.
    Did you know that you guys are my introduction
    and motivation to learning to write haiku.
    Thank you so much.

    hugs
    shakira

    • Yousei Hime says:

      shakira,
      I am so honored to be one of your introductions to haiku. Nekochan is very good. I must admit, we write senryu as much as haiku. The main difference between the two is their choice of subject–haiku focuses on nature and senryu is most often about people. Do a little research online to get a better feel for the difference–my explanation is too simple to be very accurate. I look forward to reading some of your haiku. 🙂

  9. Madeline says:

    The haiku is wonderful, as always. The notion of bliss returning beaming is warming to contemplate. Such a loving tribute to a friend. Thanks for linking to Miss Bliss’s site. It’s always nice to hear of other bright places in cyberspace. And thanks for continuing to check in on me. I appreciate you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Madeline,
      So glad you stopped by. This haiku almost created itself, just like so many good things. To meet Blissbait is to love her. She is a jewel, so full of light and laughter. Hope you can take time to visit her site and get to know her. Glad you came by. I’ll keep checking on you, whether you like it or not. 😉

  10. Gordon Mason says:

    Like line one, it is a brilliant image.

  11. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    Like this haiku. Sounds like things are working out for blissbait.

  12. Technobabe says:

    Interesting snowdrops not snowflakes. I can so understand the need for blankets. In order to keep spirits up here we speak of the first days in spring that we will be able to plant herbs and hang the comforters on the clothesline!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      Hi lady! Have you seen snowdrops? I don’t have any in my garden. I guess they are like a white crocus, another late winter/early spring bloomer. Don’t you love the way clothes smell when they’ve been dried outside? Ugh. I want Spring.

  13. Amity says:

    Dear Yousei,

    Yeah am back…:)

    Beautiful haiku here, ushering a new season after all the snowdrops have thawed!

    Being my mentor in Haiku writing, I am pleased to let you know I did one again last week titled: Craved Singleness.

    Please visit when you have time! And yeah, thanks for giving me sunshine, too as what you’ve told me in your sent mail.

    Miss yah Sis!

  14. Julie says:

    Hi, Yousei. This is another beautiful haiku. The sounds in the last line just roll off the tongue. I know a lot of folks who are ready for the thawing and lighter days. I hope things are good your way!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Julie!!!
      No real thaw yet here. I just had to say Howdy to a blogger who’d been away too long. So nice to have that bit of sunshine back. 😀 Thanks for stopping in.

  15. Diane says:

    Hello there!

    I have been traveling in southeast asia for the past month on vacation. The students all have off for chinese new year. Thank you for your comments and for keeping up with my blog. I really do appreciate it! Once I am back in China, which won’t be until the end of the month, I will be putting up new posts and photos! I am wishing you the best for the new year and congrats on the blogger award!

  16. william says:

    very nice indeed, felt warm reading this, you my dear are VERY good xx

  17. blissbait says:

    AWWWW! AWWWW! AWWWWW! Thank YOU!!!! I love this! And I love being likened to Persiphone. That’s magical, actually. Wow. You’ve blown my mind, made me cry and laugh and have given me a huge hug!

    Thank You…..sigh. Namaste times a trillion!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

