Congratulations!

Katrina’s brutal
blows bruised New Orleans–today
Saints go marching in

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Congratulations!

  1. I.S. says:

    W2G Saints! So happy 4 N.O.

    ~IS

  2. I watched the match and wondered if the Saints would win. I am happy they did. I was rooting for them.

    The people of New Orleans are the winners they feel so happy which is good. It was like it brought them all together.

  3. jruthkelly says:

    i like how you’ve double-layered the message with the Saints…great wordsmithing here…oxo…

  4. jingle says:

    how R U?
    missed u in the Rally!

    Best Wishes!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      jingle,
      Missed you too. Today is actually my Thursday, and yesterday . . . in fact most of this week, has been crazy. I’ll see what I can do to read/comment/post today. Thanks for checking up on me. 🙂

  5. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    Yeah, I was down in New Orleans 3 weeks before Katrina and then a month after Katrina. The drastic changes that the hurricane was responsible for were so heartbreaking. It was so good to see the Saints win especially because of all that the people of New Orleans went through during that time.

  6. Tacy says:

    Yay! Saints rule! (Even though I had never really heard of them until the super bowl… LOL)

    Rock on, Yousei!

    Tacy

  7. Sandy says:

    I was happy for New Orleans, too, and I don’t even watch football!

  8. Susan says:

    I couldn’t relate to the ‘saints go marching’ Now I get it. I’m not much of a sports person but yes, my husband was watching the game on sunday.
    Ha, how you relate different things in your Haiku!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Susan,
      Saints could refer to the the football team (most obvious) and also to a jazz/Christian song. New Orleans Jazz bands probably play the song quite frequently. I imagine it was played the night the football team won too. Glad you liked the haiku

  9. drj3kyll says:

    I know it’s a bit late, but sunshine can never come too late 😀

    http://drj3kyll.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/sunshine-and-super-bowl/

    /hugs
    The “Good” Doctor

  10. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Who dat! Great haiku for the occasion.

  11. jingle says:

    beautiful Super Bowl Haiku,
    U R Cool!
    🙂

  12. lesliepaints says:

    My sister and I were singing that song the other day thinking they would. Nice congratulatory poem, Yousei!

  13. kseverny says:

    For a haiku to speak of more than one action i would imagine would take some serious thought. nice one

  14. Andy Sewina says:

    Phew, this is so topical!

    Nicely penned!!

  15. Madeline says:

    Clever and timely haiku, Yousei.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Madeline,
      Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. Glad you liked the SuperBowl haiku. Seemed like a good way to honor the spirit of a city that has suffered for a while.

  16. ichabod says:

    Hi Yousei;

    when the saints
    come marching in
    the music plays

  17. william says:

    hehehhe very up to date friend, I dont like this sport but millions do, this hailku was superb xx

    • Yousei Hime says:

      william,
      I’m not a big American football fan either. I just had to honor the city that has suffered so much since the hurricane Katrina hit it. Thanks for visiting. 🙂

  18. Technobabe says:

    Great haiku! And of course a wonderful win for New Orleans.

  19. David Rheins says:

    Congrats on the Saints Super Bowl Victory. We were celebrating the week with a Haiku Marathon. Even tho our beloved Colts lost, we had a lot of fun writing. Check it out:

    http://davidrheins.blogspot.com

    thanks.

    d

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

