Gray Days

will nothing blossom
in rain of cold, salt water–
weary of my tears

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Gray Days

  1. dustus says:

    Very nice. Great imagery.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      dustus,
      Thank you for your visit and comment. I like the Gray Days haiku, even though the day that made it was just awful. Enjoying your visits and comments. Thanks for them.

  2. heartshapedlies says:

    Wow. This is one of my favourite haikus. It captures the feeling of sadness so well, and it’s also kind of endearingly beautiful to read. I’ve definitely been there.

  3. Jennifer says:

    This is powerful and it captures the moment of feeling perfectly.

  4. sweetiegirlz says:

    I’ve had that question. beautiful things bloom from the rain of life.

  5. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    This haiku is really good! So moving.

  6. william says:

    congratulations : I have given YOU the SUNSHINE AWARD 🙂 please come to my blog to collect it 🙂

  7. rdl says:

    like this one alot of course.

  8. Susan says:

    These lines echo sadness. Did you have a bad day today Yousei? Don’t worry, you’ve company. I’m learning to drive and today was one of those days…
    ‘Ha! but now night has called in
    Another new day is rising
    Let salty tears give way to sparkling laughter.’
    Have a happy weekend Yousei.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Susan,
      Thank you for visiting and the sympathy. Yes, I had a rough day-–parent/teacher conference, teenage angst, etc. It ended very well though. My oldest won second in his weightclass wrestling the County League Individual Tournament. Happy boy, happy mom.

      Stay safe as you learn to drive. Thanks for the poetic encouragement. 🙂 You have a great weekend too.

  9. Charged with beautiful sorrow… is everything all right over there? :\

  10. wayne says:

    enjoyed this one….thanks for sharing this….cheers…and there is one photo of our home here in the Rocky Mountains on my blog

    • Yousei Hime says:

      wayne,
      Happy to see you here, so to speak. 😉 Glad you liked my gloomy haiku. I like it too, just didn’t like where it came from. I’m on my way to see your Rocky Mountains! LOVE the mountains. Come visit again soon.

  11. lesliepaints says:

    Are you affected by sunless days, Yousei, or sympathy for those who are? My Mother used to search for those daffodils and tulips and everything green and new. Nice Haiku. Reminds me of her…..and her Birthday was in February of all things!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I suppose I am affected by lack of sunlight, but yesterday was just a tough day overall–parent/teacher conference, teenage angst, etc. It ended very well though. My oldest won second in his weightclass wrestling the County League Individual Tournament. Happy boy, happy mom.

  12. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Cheer up, the snowdrops are budding up in my garden. They will be in your garden soon too. I feel this way sometimes too though. Such a descriptive haiku.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      Thank you for your encouragement. I would like one more really big snow, then Spring is more than welcome. Thank you to for your loyal visits. They mean a lot to me.

  13. william says:

    beautiful imagery packed haiku xx well done 🙂

  14. Tacy says:

    I just LOVE your poetry! Keep up the good work. Oh, I had an idea! Well, 2, actually. You could make a slide show of your poems or put them all in, like, a book and you could draw pictures! 😀 You don’t have to (I wouldn’t have time) but I just got a vision and wanted to let you know I am thinking about ya!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tacy,
      You are soooooo sweet. It’s a great idea, though I’m not sure my drawing is up to par. I wouldn’t mind making my own short book, illustrating it and adding the right poems. Another haiku blogger, mother sparrow, made her own accordian style journal, I’ve been thinking about that ever since. I’ll definitely be keeping your idea in mind–as motivation and possibility.

  15. roxieh says:

    breathtakingly beautiful! your work is amazing. thank you for sharing it with us!

  16. Technobabe says:

    This made me think, how long has it been since I cried? In 2008 I cried more than all the crying jags put together in my life I think. 2009 was gradually drying the eyes and by mid year all finished crying. So it’s been many months. Pretty good huh?
    This haiku sounds forlorn and lonely, like it needs a haiku friend.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      Crying for a year, I’ve had a few too many of those, but I’m sorry to hear you had them too. I’m glad things have dried up. You offering a haiku friendship? Write it on, my friend. 😉

  17. jruthkelly says:

    gee whiz, what’d you do? you entered my world of a few days ago and put it to haiku. i love this.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Cuz,
      Lol. I’m glad you like it, and I’m sorry you were feeling what is in that haiku. Gotten much snow? We are getting the lightest of flurries. Sort of wish we’d get a foot or so too. Of course, if it hit, I might change my mind. 😀

  18. jingle says:

    very emotional,
    but rather beautiful painting of one’s feelings of sadness…
    i am moved and empowered by your gift, 😉

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

