Haiku for Haiku Bones

white beehives idle
under snow–unasked your hand
already in mine

Haiku Bones prompt: uncanny

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Haiku for Haiku Bones

  1. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    Love the picture this haiku paints in the mind. Once again reminds me of New England in winter.

  2. rdl says:

    very nice poem

  3. Jennifer says:

    Yes, this was quite beautiful. As a beekeeper, I was touched by the image of the white beehives. I’ve also had dreams of bees lately – the connection of the beehives and the romantic gesture of holding hands makes sense to me.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jennifer,
      Author Robin McKinley has a book titled Chalice which is great. It is about a beekeeper who takes a very important post in her village, one she is not really comfortable with. You should look it up. Thanks for the visit and comment.

  4. Beautiful, so beautiful it gives one a feeling of floating.

    Melanie

  5. Tacy says:

    Thank you very very very much!

  6. ishabelle says:

    it gives me a feeling of being in a field where everything is peaceful and i am with that special person. i really liked your haiku. :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      ishabelle,
      Welcome and thank you for leaving a comment. I was trying to capture the surprise one feels when a loved one anticipates ones wishes. Glad you liked the haiku. Feel free to visit any time.

  7. lesliepaints says:

    I like the idea of beehives idling….waiting.

  8. ichabod says:

    Hi Yousei;

    there was a smiling little leprechaun
    named ichabod
    who decided to pop in
    to yousei’s home

    for there was a little note
    at ichabod’s place
    announcing yousei
    was moping around

    yousei’s smiley face
    was upside down

    the little leprechaun
    tickled the smiley face
    and set it right side up

    in the hopes little yousei
    would quit moping around

    this little fairy tale
    is brought to you
    free of charge

    may the stars glitter
    and rainbows dance
    for yousei’s famous eggnog
    cannot tolerate moping
    for too long :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sir Ichabod,
      There is a great idea! Nonstop eggnog production until Bliss comes home. What do you think? Oh, I wouldn’t worry about housework getting done. I don’t do much anyway. I promise I won’t drive . . . Yeah, I’m daydreaming. My kids will forget something for school and I’ll end up in a ditch or on the moon. Thanks for the poem. The bunny’s fine now. :)

  9. Tacy says:

    Oh, about the movie? I might take a while to send that email. Sorry. Also, I did a post about poems on ruledaworld.wordpress.com that you might like! (I think you will but I’m not positive.)

    Thanks again,

    Tacy!

  10. pieceofpie says:

    love in the quiet… makes me lonely for that warm hand once again…

  11. Jacquie says:

    Very nice haiku! Sorry I haven’t been to visit in awhile. I’ve had a computer virus, which (even though it’s now off my computer) has blocked my access to the Internet. Still working on organizing my office, but am also getting some writing done. :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hi Jacquie,
      Sorry to hear about the virus. I’ve had computer issues too. The harddrive on my laptop died and I have yet to find out if any of the files are retrievable. I’m mostly concerned about all the family photos. :( Glad to hear the writing is progressing. Thanks for stopping by. :)

  12. Sandy says:

    What a good feeling! I love, and no, it is not to early to hope the snow is almost done.

  13. Technobabe says:

    By reading your haiku I have a feeling that I am on the verge of understanding haiku. Hard to explain but I so like it and yet I still read the words as it were poetry, which it is but it is beyond poetry. When I understand it better I will explain it better too.

    I for one appreciate the unasked hand that reaches out and takes my hand. Sorta like you have done with me actually.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      I am honored. You are indeed a friend I freely hold my hand out to. We need some warm hands these days. I understand what you mean about “understanding” haiku yet not being able to verbalize it. The same is true in many arts, like music. There were times when I played a piece and suddenly . . . Oh! I get it. I couldn’t tell you what it was, but I could hear the difference it made. Your visits are precious to me. Thank you for them, and your friendship.

  14. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 4 (Feb. 4-Feb. 10, 2010) « Jingle

  15. jingle says:

    magical flow,

    you are hot in Haiku, ;)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      jingle,
      You are determined to keep my cheeks rosy, aren’t you? Thanks for the complement. I liked your road poem very much. Be sure and check back on the site for more comments.

  16. Tacy says:

    I really like how the meaning of this poem is beyond words. Thank you, Yousei Hime!

  17. brian miller says:

    nice contrast the beehives and the warmth of an unasked hand…lots of snow here! and a deluge coming this weekend.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      I actually wish we were getting a bit more snow . . . one final dump before the end. Of course, it’s a bit too early to consider February the end. We’ve had snow as late as April here. 8O Stay warm!

  18. william says:

    good blogtastic afternoon friend, what a beautiful Haiku, definitely your best yet, loved it, now for departures lolxx

  19. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Marvelous thoughts of that unbidden touch of love.

  20. Love this one
    unasked hands or snow
    already.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

