Tapered Letter

this night nails bit deep
letters frail wax accepted–
flickering bright grief

for A Random Bowl of Words 7

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tapered Letter

  1. The ‘tapered letter’ phrase serves the strong dual purpose of a clever idea and very poignant imagery. Really lovely.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      collatetoredeem,
      Welcome! Thank you for leaving a comment. You are the first person to comment on the title. I like how it added dimension to the poem. Please stop by again sometime. You are most welcome.

  2. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    I can just about feel the nails of the night biting down on me. Love this haiku. Great imagery and sensations!

  3. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Oh that grief does flicker. Sometime bright sometimes a dull roar.

  4. Carmen says:

    I used to have a set of those wax sealing candles with accompanying metal stamps, something like this one:

    http://tinyurl.com/yjt4fyc

    Apparently, they’ve made a resurgence for their use in scrapbooking. For me, it was all about letters.

    I had many pen pals when I was a pre-teen and young teen, and I would carefully melt some wax on the back flap, then press in the metal ladybug, flower, my initial, or what have you, to form the seal. I thought it was awfully exotic and sophisticated. And I suppose it was for a 10- or 12-year old. Thanks for evoking this memory 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hey Carmen!
      I used to have some of those too! I might still have them. I can’t imagine them being used in scrapbooking–sounds messy. I had a ton of pen pals too during that same time span. I’d say that today’s texting and FB have replaced the need our letter writing filled. Glad we shared a memory through the poem. Good to see you!!!

  5. jruthkelly says:

    well, wow. this one makes me want to bow in deep respect of your eloquence. layers upon layers in this…wonder.

  6. Technobabe says:

    I read your haiku with sadness, like bad news received in the mail. I am just learning haiku from reading your blog and I know I interpret things way too literally. But I do like the way you put words to paper.

    This is the comment I left on Random Bowl of Words 7:

    Good grief!
    Letters are read
    By wax and wick
    At night in bed
    Accept a bow
    From Charlie Brown now.

  7. Tacy says:

    I know what you mean when you say “flickering bright grief.” Well, maybe it’s not what you mean, but it’s how I understand it. It’s like grief is something that we can’t ignore. Was that what you meant or something else?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tacy,
      That’s a very good way to read it! Remember, it is not so much what the writer was trying to say (although your teachers will be looking for that) as what you see, what it means to you. Have a great day!

  8. lesliepaints says:

    Reminds me of a sad moment in my own life, but one we all go through. Sometimes I like poems like this just because I know someone else has had the same feeling.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      leslie,
      Hi sweet lady! I feel the same way about poetry, books and good movies. I also like it because they remind me that I’m alive and have lived, not matter what the echoed feeling is. Happy to see you again.

  9. jingle says:

    emotion in perfect motion, 😉

  10. william says:

    hi there, your Haikus are like a “breath of fresh air” I love them, the imagery is second to none, you are a superb writer xx

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

