Autumn Leaves

red oak leaves turning
here — memories traced, subtle
dark on light, veined film

(2004)

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Autumn Leaves

  1. jruthkelly says:

    and so alive…glorious words and image!

  2. jingle says:

    heavenly photo shot,

    I miss Fall,
    all golden and awesome.

    top post of the day.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      jingle,
      I am honored you like the post that much. Fall is a magnificent season. Thank you for your visit and kind comments–I look forward to them. I really am enjoying your blog. Was the math solution 125? 😉

  3. william says:

    beautiful haiku, and yes its better than the freezing weather, have a great day 🙂

  4. I wish it was still fall. I like your haiku 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      ottobiography,
      Welcome! Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I love the fall too. It’s my favorite season. Glad you liked the haiku. I’ve really enjoyed your stories. Humor is the best. Hope to see you again. 🙂

  5. Ooh, doubly beautiful! A welcome sight on a snowy, snowy day.

  6. Tacy says:

    Woah! Did you take that picture? I love it! So pretty! It’s snowing here. There are some pictures up on my blog. Thanks for the beautiful poem and pic!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tacy,
      Yep! I took the picture. I’ll check out your snow pics tomorrow. Spent all day at the high school at my son’s wrestling tournament, so I’m worn out. Go play in the snow! 🙂

  7. Technobabe says:

    Oh yes, autumn colors. Colors to dance down the street to even with no music.

    I particularly like the “veined film”.

    Hope you are enjoying your day.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      That “veined film” is my favorite bit too. I had a great day today. My son’s wrestling team got second at a tournament and he won 4 of his 5 matches. I’m pooped now. 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Beautiful imagery even without the photo.

  9. souldose says:

    How log have you been an artist? Because wow you’ve mastered it and this is so old, which means you mastered it long ago… I love this

    • Yousei Hime says:

      SeraphSili,
      So good to hear from you! Hope you are doing better. I have taken photos since I was in high school. Taken an autumn picture is an easy way to get a nice picture. The trees do all the work. Thank you for the complement. Glad you like it. 🙂

  10. kseverny says:

    Everything about this post is truly warming

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

