Haiku for A Bowl of Random Words

afternoon spring swim
delicate secret thawing
frozen snow dissolves

A Bowl of Random Words

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Haiku for A Bowl of Random Words

  1. nanno1982 says:

    I didn’t write Haiku before..
    I’m still reading about it..
    So it is very good to have talents like yours to guide the one thru..
    I truely loved this one.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      nanno1982,
      Thank you for visiting and commenting. I’m thrilled you are interested in haiku. Writing haiku is a great way to focus on how individual words work together and how changing a single word can change the entire poem. I hope my haiku encourage you to try more of your own. Visit again any time. 🙂

  2. gbaugh says:

    Very nice!
    Gerardine Baugh

  3. Pingback: An Update On Thursday Poet’s Rally Week 2 (Jan 21-27, 2010) « Jingle

  4. rundontwalk17 says:

    Hey Yousei this is Tacy on my other account… I accidently deleted My Life, so I made a NEW one in its place, itsmylife17.wordpress.com. Just thought I should let you know! You don’t have to comment too much though because I have so many blogs! 😀

  5. Tacy says:

    I love this haiku. It’s such a fresh start! It is (finally!) starting to warm up here, and this poem puts me in the spring mood. You know, the feeling of wanting to breath in the fresh air, wanting to swim in cool water, wanting to look at flowers? Yeah, that feeling. 😀 Thank you for this nice post!

  6. Amity says:

    I understand that it’s like skeletons in one’s closet is about to be divulged/

    Beautiful and challenging haiku, one is left to think a lot what it’s meant.

    Have a nice day Yousei!

  7. Julie says:

    I love what you did with the words. You find the coolest sites. I used to play games like this with my students to make found poems. It’s great to see it online.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      CousinJ,
      Were you a teacher too? See, we have to be family. I’ve got a whole tree full of teachers. Glad you liked the poem. You should check out mothersparrow’s other sites. Her haiku are very good. Glad you stopped by and left a comment. I enjoy ALL your visits (don’t stop).

  8. jingle says:

    dynamic flow,
    I can see the snow melting along the stream and with secrets shown in light of sun…getting warmer, right?

    cool post. 😉

  9. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    A dip in a pond right now would be bracing to say the least. This haiku gives that feeling. Brrrrr

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      Lol. You’re right. I can hardly think about swimming right now. These words just fit together so nicely, I couldn’t resist the image. Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment.

  10. kseverny says:

    For you its seems like a sad farewell.
    But for me, well champagne

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kokot,
      Welcome back! Thanks for the comment. Mmmmm, champagne. I’ve only had it a couple of times. Probably a good thing, since I’m not very good at stopping once I start. One of the great things about poetry, to me, is how it can be read so many ways. A toast to your interpretation!

  11. lesliepaints says:

    Are you wishing for spring? 🙂 These days of thawing and fog make us think of such. I can imagine warming to someone who has upset me and apologizes. That is like swimming in the warmth of something new. The spring of a renewed journey as the frozen waters recede. Nice thought, Yousei.

  12. Technobabe says:

    I dissolved in laughter
    as you whispered your secret
    In your delicate manner
    During our afternoon swim

    No pizzazz but it is a learning experience huh

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      OMG! That is awesome. I really like that poem! There are so many possibilities as to who the listener and whisperer are. Conversation between two friends, between lovers, between silly kids (less likely). Thank you so much for putting it in my comments. Did you post it at ABRW?

  13. Pingback: Thursday Poets’ Rally Week 2 (January 21-27, 2010) « Jingle

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

