Haiku for Stories Without Words

toes in earth golden
white sheet dances–gaze at blue
possibilities

Be sure and visit Stories Without Words to see the photo prompt!

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Photo, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Haiku for Stories Without Words

  1. Julie says:

    Another beautiful one. I love how there is a pause after blue, but my eyes want to read it as “blue possibilities.”

    I just went back and read other people’s comments, and see they noticed it, too. That is such an awesome line break.

    P.S. – Please forgive me for pelting you with multiple comments in one day. I have limited time online, so I block off an hour or two of time to enjoy reading blogs. Still, it must be annoying to keep seeing me all at once…haha! Tell me to stop if it’s a pain.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Julie,
      Multiple comments are forgiven on one condition–you have to keep it up! 😉 Seriously, it’s not annoying; I love it. I like the Stories Without Words site; I just don’t always like the prompts. So I try to write for the ones that really move me. My favorite is still the Lady of Shalott haiku and picture. Thanks for another sweet visit. 😀

  2. jingle says:

    I love Haiku,
    it is a thrill to find you here.

    cheers. 😉

  3. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    Wrote some more yesterday. Another great idea struck me. I wrote most of the opening scene for a story idea that just came to me. I’m sure you have experienced that before.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Nekochan,
      Good for you. I still haven’t gotten the writing going. I’m not a very disciplined person. I’m working on it though. Look forward to hearing more about your story. 🙂

  4. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    I really like this one! Somehow I was picturing a ballet dancer in a field with a long sarong type dress resembling a white sheet. The photo prompt was very close to the picture I had in my mind.

  5. rundontwalk17 says:

    Hey Yousei, this is Tacy on my other account!!! 😀 Whatsupppp??? My blog on this account is mylife17.wordpress.com. 😀 I know that’s a lot of blogs of mine to keep up with, so don’t feel like you have to comment on all of them. 😀

    TTYL

  6. stan says:

    11 words to say a thousand things – impressed.

  7. Anya says:

    Lovely lines written
    you are very talented !!

    (@^.^@)

  8. ichabod says:

    Hi Yousei;

    i see you enjoy
    the game
    we play
    with the poem’s
    lines

    you are good
    we shall try
    and do
    this
    again 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sir Ichabod,

      i see you enjoy
      (with a smile, slightly coy)
      the game
      (never tame)
      we play
      (softly sway)
      with the poem’s
      lines

      you are good
      (understood)
      we shall try
      (words will fly)
      and do
      (and coo)
      this
      (bliss)
      again

      [Man, that was fun!!! Off to grocery shop. Thank you, Sir Ichabod.]

  9. ichabod says:

    Hi “toes in golden earth”

    I spotted your note
    to the beam of bliss
    a few minutes ago

    i concur
    for she’s a magnet
    for us to converge upon

    bliss wrote me a note
    a few days ago
    letting me know

    her beam will return
    soon 🙂

    I hope this will brighten your day:)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sir ichabod,

      I spotted your note
      (a soft, middle C)
      to the beam of bliss
      (to the conductor of our symphony)
      a few minutes ago
      (a message in soft misery)

      i concur
      (musicians stumble)
      for she’s a magnet
      (withdrawn and humble)
      for us to converge upon
      (batonless, we fumble)

      bliss wrote me a note
      (a hopeful tune)
      a few days ago
      (and none to soon)
      letting me know
      (the score of the loon)

      her beam will return
      soon

      Thanks for the poem of encouragement. Thought I’d return the gift. My day is brightened.

  10. sweetiegirlz says:

    She’s at peace for sure.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      sweetiegirlz,
      It really is an uplifting, encouraging photo, isn’t it. That’s why I had to give writing about it a shot. Thanks for visiting. Best wishes in your upcoming move.

  11. Julia Smith says:

    I like your phrase: ”gaze at blue possibilities’.

  12. Gordon Mason says:

    Like how you have the colours at the extremities of the lines, gold white and blue.

  13. “blue possibilities” well said.

  14. lesliepaints says:

    I think I like to just read the words. Toes in earth golden. That is so cool! That could be everyone! Golden can mean the color or it could mean the earth is precious. Great first line. 🙂

  15. Tacy says:

    OMG I put up some pics of my cat (finally)!

  16. Tacy says:

    I love this. It is true, the earth is golden, not muddy and brown, but golden. I like to think of that.

  17. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    This is a very good haiku to go with the photo. One always likes to have possibilities.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      Thank you for the compliment. I really liked the photo. I usually try to write for those photos that move me. It’s always nice to write uplifting words too. Thanks for visiting again.

  18. I like the notion of “blue possibilities”… good use of color. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph,
      I liked that phrase too. There is a lot I like about this haiku, but I still don’t think it stands easily without the photo. Thanks for the visit and the comment.

  19. Andy Sewina says:

    Cool Haiku (pun intended). Possibilities is a a good five syllable word, which speaks volumes in this piece.

    Nicely!

  20. Technobabe says:

    You are right, after I see the photo that prompted this haiku I can read this post differently. When you see something, you have a great way of writing simply and easily. At least the finished product seems easy and flowing, maybe you struggled some when writing it but it doesn’t show.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      The photo definitely makes a difference for this poem. I did toss around different words and word order while writing it. Sometimes the process is easy; other times it is work. Thanks for coming by.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

