Fresh Ingredients for the Poetic Soup!!!

mother sparrow, who writes beautiful poetry on her blog by the same name, has just launched a new poetry prompt site.

A Bowl of Random Words offers once-a-week, special-ingredient words as a challenge for spicing up your poetry.  The randomly chosen ingredients are tossed into the challenge bowl.  She tantalizes us with a photograph of these verbal herbs and spices, as well as posting the list of words on the site. Once your poetic dish is complete, leave it on its own special dish in the comments section. What do you think?  Hungry?  Get cookin’!

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fresh Ingredients for the Poetic Soup!!!

  1. jingle says:

    creative,
    dynamic,

    I love it, 😉

  2. Argh! More prompt sites?! 😛

    Honestly though, I may need a break from my usual ones. And those first few words offered are outstanding. Maybe I’ll skip haiku this week…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Joseph,
      LOL!!! I knew you’d say that. 😀 mother sparrow’s site seems really low pressured though. Besides, I suspected you couldn’t resist the challenge of creating a poem from a handful of words, master poetic chef that you are. Look forward to reading your offerings!

  3. Oh my, you’re all so talented. It’s neat how you can put together a very nice poem with just a few words, and write a poem with all its rhythm and rhymes. Wow!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      scentedsummer,
      Welcome! Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. I am amazed by your art as much as (or more than) you are my poetry. I love visiting your beautiful site. Thank you for letting me share my writing with you. Come again any time.

  4. Technobabe says:

    I might have enough nerve to try it.

  5. Carmen says:

    Yum, I made carrot ginger soup around New Year’s. It’s pure heaven.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Carmen,
      Hmmmm. That sounds interesting. I’ve never had anything like that before. Do post it, if you haven’t already.

      • Carmen says:

        I thought of it because when I originally read this, a blog post with the recipe came up in the automatically-generated list of related posts! (Which reminds me, I once had a whole conversation with Dr. Hunter discussing my angst over a disagreement with other staff about whether to include a hyphen in a certain compound adjective in a newspaper story.)

        I’ve put the recipe in a blog post of my own.

  6. Amity says:

    Good morning Yousei;

    Yeah, been to Mother Sparrow’s site and I find it interesting.

    I will try working on it so I can hone my writing skills…:)

    Thanks for sharing the site!

    Amity

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

