Drifting

snows drifts higher still
blanketing all:  fields, pines, home–
contented within

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Drifting

  1. jingle says:

    admirable snow photo,

    great post.

  2. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    Sounds like my trip along the interstate highway earlier this week. Like this haiku.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Nekochan,
      I wrote this when my cold was at its worst. I was so miserable, I couldn’t imagine going outside, despite how magical the landscape. Staying by the fire, wrapped up in a blanket, staring out the window–that was the best I could manage. I left the tissues and sniffling out of the haiku. 😉

  3. Jeeves says:

    Warmth in the chillness

  4. Susan says:

    Indeed the snow has covered everything. But I still love the beauty of this white blanket.
    Thank you for peeping at Ariel.

  5. Julie says:

    Beautiful. It makes me want to take a nap in front of the fireplace. We don’t get much snow around these here parts, but I learned to appreciate the comfort of a snow day when I lived up north.

  6. souldose says:

    I’d love to see snow, I’ve always though it brings unique quiet and peacefulness… Great Haiku darl.

  7. Sandy says:

    Oh, now, this is a peaceful poem. Nothing is better than being contented.

  8. Madeline says:

    It’s cold where I am, but without enough snow to give the “snowed-in-everybody-just-curl-up-with-cocoa-til-the-thaw” feeling that this lovely haiku evokes. You’ve got me wishing for a huge snowfall! Thank you for such a cozy feeling.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Madeline,
      Thank you so much for visiting and sharing a comment. If you really want it, I wash I nice cozy snowfall for you. Glad you enjoyed the haiku. Visit anytime.

  9. Andy Sewina says:

    Hiya, love the line ‘contented within’ it makes me feel like I’m an an igloo – snug!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Andy Sewina,
      Glad you liked the drifting haiku. I think that last line really makes the poem. I’m all about snug these days. Too cold for me. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. Stop by any time.

  10. wendy naisa says:

    Phew, we haven’t got any snowdrifts here, but the snow is right across my street. Cool seasonal Haiku!

  11. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    This is the way I perceive winter. Aaahhhhh… time to be in.

  12. Amity says:

    Wish I could see real snow and not just in poems and pictures…:)

    I feel the stillness of your lines Yousei…:) and it’s freezin’ cold in there, is it?

    Have a great week ahead!

    Yours,

    Amity

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amity,
      Perhaps you will see the snow sometime. Unless the wind is really blowing, there is always a stillness in a field of snow. And yes, it is very cold. This morning it was about 12 degrees Farenheit. Least week we got below zero. Brrrrrr. You take care.

  13. kseverny says:

    Three weeks of snow.
    i’ve had enough. lol
    cool haiku

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kokot,
      Three weeks! Have mercy! I don’t think we’ve had that much. You are surely entitled to reaching your limit. Glad you liked the haiku. I didn’t leave a message earlier (trying to read through friends blogs while I still had the energy), but I loved the pictures and poem. Thank you for stopping by and for your own posts.

  14. lesliepaints says:

    Oh yes, within. That is where I stay today. 🙂 I like this Yousei. So appropriate.

  15. Technobabe says:

    Might as well relax huh, Mother Nature has way more power than we do so hey, we might as well enjoy the winter show. I mean snow. Hugs.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tecnobabe,
      I really do love the snow. Growing up in south Texas, we never saw snow. I love the untouched fields and snowy pine branches. I’m ready for a change by mid-February, though. Snow in April, just too weird for this Texas girl.

  16. Jennifer says:

    I like this. I also like your new winter rabbit!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jennifer,
      Thanks. The haiku doesn’t reveal it, but I have a cold and am more than happy to stay inside, sniffling and blowing. That new bunny picture turned out well, didn’t it. I really like it too. Hope your holidays were great!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

