Writing and Revising

For those who write poetry, there is a link below providing a written walk-through of one published writer’s process for writing and revising his poetry.  It is an easy and informative read.  Hope you find it useful.

Writing and Illustrating

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Writing and Revising

  1. Amity says:

    Hi dear Sis;

    As you suggested, I submitted my work at David’s. Now I am excited to know whatever people will think of my first serious attempt.

    And I even posted it my site for the benefit of my regular readers, of course you are one my dear!

    Thanks a lots! I love you!

    Yours,

    Amity

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amity,
      You are welcome and congratulations. You did a great job. Haiku are tricky. It is relatively easy to write a haiku; it is very hard to write a perfect one. Be sure and check back on David’s blog. Others will be reading and commenting on your poem. See you round.

  2. Amity says:

    Which is better?

    Century-old oaks
    Indurated to survive
    By nature and time

    Century-old elms
    Indurated to endure
    With nature and time

    Yours,

    Amity

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amity,
      I like the internal alliteration in the first line of your second option (old/elms). I also like the shift in meaning with the change of “by” to “with.” They are both nice, so ultimately, the choice is yours. You can submit one on the Haiku Bones site too if you want. The prompt there is “time,” so your haiku would fit perfectly. Good job!

  3. Amity says:

    Good morning!

    Am here to request some kind critiquing on my try at haiku writing…please be kind to give me suggestions for improvement, as I will be submitting this for the the coming week’s OSI prompt. The prompt is INDURATED.

    Thanks a lot dear Sis!

    This is my try:

    Century-old trees
    Indurated to survive
    By time and nature

    Yours,

    Amity

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amity,
      This is very, very good for a first attempt. I really don’t have any suggestions, except maybe switching the order of time and nature. See if that changes the meaning or the feel. You could also choose a specific kind of tree (oak, elm, ash, etc.) with a one syllable name. That can also bring a different shade of meaning. Like flowers, different trees have different symbolic meaning. I suppose you could play with synonyms for survive too (endure is the only one that comes to mind). Make small changes and see what YOU think. You may go right back to this one, or you might like one of the others. Either way, you’ll get a bit more practice with the subtleties of haiku. Congratulations on an excellent first haiku.

  4. Tacy says:

    Haha! No, I’m not. LOL. We had early release. We do every Wednesday. But, okay, I DO go online during keyboarding SOMETIMES. 😀

  5. Tacy says:

    Thank you with providing me with the link!! I’ll be certain to pop my head in! 😀

  6. Julie says:

    Hello, Cuz! I hope you had a great Christmas and New Year. Thanks for the link. It is an interesting site. It makes me want to write a poem about “time.” There never seems to be enough of it, huh?

    I’m very interested in the writing process of other poets and writers. Mine is crazy. I revise to the point of insanity, even after something is published. I always wonder if other people do that.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Hey Cousin J,
      Glad you like the link. Go for it, on the “time” poem. You have until the 23rd I think. I’m sure there are many people who revise like you do. I don’t, at least not yet. I try to do all my revising before the “for publication” draft. I’m sure that is one thing I need to change. We’re all learning. As long as I keep listening to and implementing what I’ve learned, I’ll become a better and better writer. You’re on the right track!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Dhyan,
      You’re quite welcome. I’ve found Kathy Temean’s and David L. Harrison’s sites very helpful and encouraging. Hope you do too. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a welcomed comment.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

