Holiday Cheer

I had one request for this from a blogging friend (47whitebuffalo’s blog).  “Hmmmmm,” I thought, “there might be more who are interested.”  So . . . here is a 100+ year-old recipe for eggnog.  I’ve never tried it (but been quite tempted every year).  Master Chef, feel free to make suggestions and offer advice.

It is from the 12th Edition of the 1906 Fanny Farmer Cookbook (one of the earliest, apparently). Read it all the way through before starting!

1 dozen eggs, separated
1/2 tsp salt
2 1/4 or more cups sugar
2 or more cups bourbon
1/2 cup rum
1 quart of milk
2 T vanilla extract
3 pints heavy cream
nutmeg

Beat together the egg yolks and salt in a large mixing bowl, slowing adding 1 1/2 cups of the sugar. Continue beating until thick and pale. Stir in the bourbon, rum, milk, and vanilla until well mixed. Beat the egg whites until foamy and slowly add the remaining 3/4 cup sugar, continuing to beat until stiff and all the sugar has been incorporated. Whip the cream until stiff. Now fold the egg whites into the yolk mixture and then fold in the whipped cream. Taste and add more bourbon and/or sugar if necessary. Pour into a punch bowl and sprinkle the top with nutmeg.

That’s it! The tasting part is the most important. Be sure and leave some for the punch bowl.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Holiday Cheer

  1. Tacy says:

    Yeah. I like the kind without alcohol, we buy it around the holidays, it’s a tradition. We drink it while we decorate the Christmas tree. 😀

  2. Katherine says:

    oh man, I miss eggnog…might have to make a batch of this for myself. I couldn’t believe Starbucks here in Japan didn’t even sell eggnog lattes 😦 At least I got my gingerbread latte fix

  3. Tacy says:

    Even though I couldn’t drink this, if there was no alchohol, I would!!! 😀

    • Yousei Hime says:

      There are probably some non-alcohol versions on the internet. I’ve never made eggnogg of any kind. My oldest son loves it. I buy him a quart (non-alcohol) when it’s available at the store. The recipe sounds really rich doesn’t it!

  4. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    I have seen one of those Fanny Farmer cookbooks before. What a blast from the past.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      It was given to me as a wedding present from a family that lived by us when I was very small. I’ve used it so many times. Even though it is falling apart, it is a treasure.

  5. Camilla says:

    Hello!

    I just want to wish you a merry christmas. A bit late perhaps, but I hope you are enjoying the holidays!

  6. Oh Yousei, you delightful ‘devil’! LOL. Now you’ve made it sooo easy for me to pass this on to non-blog friends.
    LOL. grins

  7. Technobabe says:

    I don’t drink eggnog, and I don’t drink alcohol. That doesn’t mean I can’t have a good time!! I will forward your recipe to my daughter and son-in-law, who entertain often. Much hugs and loves to you for a wonderful Christmas!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      Thank you for stoppin by! I don’t really drink either. Hear’s a favorite story (true though) I used to tell my overly curious students–I only drink twice a year, when visiting my sister-in-law (because my brother-in-law won’t take no to drinking as an answer) and on New Year’s Eve at home with my family; on the former, I have a glass, and on the latter, I have most of a bottle and my husband has a very good night. 😉 I have no self-restraint when it comes to drinking, a hard discovered fact years ago. So, I don’t drink either, except twice a year. :p

      Hugs and smiles to you too. Bless you.

  8. kseverny says:

    A good recipe but be very careful with what eggs you use.
    Seriously, achohol does NOT kill salmonella.
    Free range eggs with proof of onnoculations.
    in the UK thats red lion stamped.
    .
    i’m sorry for being so boring. lol

  9. blissbait says:

    HEY MOST WONDERFUL YOUSEI!!! Thank You for all the baskets of LOVE You gifted me! And wow. I have a friend who is cowrazy for eggnog and LOVES to make things from scratch. I’m sending this her way! Thank You and Hugest of Hugs, smiles, and Love to You! Namaste. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      You are Most welcome, Blissbeam. Happy, happy, happy to see you. 😀 😀 😀

      • blissbait says:

        Hey Again! Good Morning! Just remember I need to send this link! Will do right after I finish this hello! Was laughing because this time I read Your tags and I don’t know why, but the word booze always cracks me up. So, thanks for the laugh! And I know my friend will LOVE this recipe, so I say a Thank You from her as well! Big Hugs and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

  10. jruthkelly says:

    oh my….fanny farmer…and wow. i was just saying i need to make egg nog from scratch at least once in my life. this is some recipe! thanks for sharing!

  11. ichabod says:

    Hi Yousei;

    It is so kind of you sharing your spine tingling, earth shaking, world famous, recipe with us. 🙂

    I had fun with it yesterday on Bliss’s blog and really enjoyed your rendition of the blues.

    Have a great day my friend 🙂

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

