For Freelance Writers and Illustrators and . . .

Confession … I have never considered whether or not I need to track my time spent writing (much to my husband’s dismay).  After reading the recent post on the blog Writing and Illustrating, I’ve finally given it some thought.  I won’t need the software she’s recommending yet, but it doesn’t hurt to look.  Hope you find it interesting and maybe useful.

Writing and Illustrating

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For Freelance Writers and Illustrators and . . .

  1. Oh dear. I don’t want to know how long I spend writing.

    I’m pretty sure it is (cough, choke, splutter!) not as, um, long as I spend on… say.. ironing, and ah.. dishes, and (ahem!) dusting an’ stuff.

    No, I’m going with less time than domestic duties, but.. I’d rather take it on faith than see it in black and white 😉

    • Yousei Hime says:

      I’d like take it on faith as well, but my house well testify against me. I’d just rather write and read than clean–honest truth. I’m working on the self-control bit . . . slowly.

  2. Hiruta says:

    Yousei Hime San,

    no problem at all.
    I find it very interesting and very useful.

    Thanks a lot.
    With my best regards,
    Hidenori Hiruta

  3. Thank you Yousei.
    Now, I’m here because I’ve been giving some thought to your EggNog. Yep, indeed. It seems to have some untapped potential for ‘fun’.
    T’is the season for eggnogging, is it not?
    So–might it be a thought to, um, share that tasty treat recipe online? hmmm?
    You did mention a cookbook–Fanny Farmer? hmm?
    grins

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Tempted, are you? 😉 Sure. Here it is, and it is from the 12th Edition of the 1906 Fanny Farmer Cookbook (one of the earliest, apparently). Read it all the way through before starting!

      1 dozen eggs, separated
      1/2 tsp salt
      2 1/4 or more cups sugar
      2 or more cups bourbon
      1/2 cup rum
      1 quart of milk
      2 T vanilla extract
      3 pints heavy cream
      nutmeg

      Beat together the egg yolks and salt in a large mixing bowl, slowing adding 1 1/2 cups of the sugar. Continue beating until thick and pale. Stir in the bourbon, rum, milk, and vanilla until well mixed. Beat the egg whites until foamy and slowly add the remaining 3/4 cup sugar, continuing to beat until stiff and all the sugar has been incorporated. Whip the cream until stiff. Now fold the egg whites into the yolk mixture and then fold in the whipped cream. Taste and add more bourbon and/or sugar if necessary. Pour into a punch bowl and sprinkle the top with nutmeg.

      That’s it! The tasting part is the most important. Be sure and leave some for the punch bowl. 😉

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

