For One Single Impression–spider webs

branches overlook
another vacant abode
frosted spider webs

One Single Impression prompt–spider webs

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to For One Single Impression–spider webs

  1. Sandy says:

    This is very beautiful, and the so peaceful.

  2. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    Absolutely love this one. Love the whole “vacant” theme. Great work.

  3. jruthkelly says:

    such potent provocation in a world of words few but brilliant afire, alive, leading your grateful readers to horizons and stories of creative wonder…

    so glad to have found you!!!

  4. gabrielle says:

    what a strong visual image, as if nature is a witness to the displacement of lives. beautiful writing.

  5. SandyCarlson says:

    That is a wonderful poem. Thank you.

  6. So delicate and lovely. Your words seem to just to bring it all to life.

    love, Melanie

  7. Julie says:

    Fantastic! With eight words, you’ve got an entire story turning in my mind. I love all the images, but line two really strikes a chord. “Vacant abode” says much. But to add the word “another” is excellent. I’m probably reading too much into the poem on a personal level…things that are happening in my own life. But I think that’s what’s so cool about poetry. We all bring our personal experiences to the read. When a poem reaches out and touches that experience, it’s awesome.

    Frosted webs are also great and add to the story. I’ve heard webs described as dew covered, but frost makes it more fresh and unique. It also adds much to the tone.

    Well, you have written eight words that have prompted me to ramble on and on…haha! Beautiful. I love your poem very much!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      So glad you liked it. You are the first responder to hint at one of the images I was trying to convey, the depressing number of empty homes around us. 😀 Come by and ramble any time!

  8. trisha says:

    this is a beautiful picture of an empty abode.. simply beautiful

  9. Tumblewords says:

    So soft and lovely, observant and strong.

  10. Technobabe says:

    This is such a nice vision.

  11. owlren says:

    Nice! “Frosted spider webs” is a beautiful phrase and image, and “vacant” really adds an almost haunting feel.

  12. I really thought I commented on this already… o_O Anyway, I’ll say again, lovely image and interpretation of the prompt; I imagine a frosted spiderweb must look gorgeous.

  13. Amity Me says:

    …nice take on the prompt Yousei….:)

    ‘vacant branches would be fine above for spiders…:)

    good afternoon!

  14. Hiruta says:

    How impressive!
    If winter comes, can spring be far behind?
    Branches will flourish again next spring, but now…

  15. jukota says:

    very nice! lovely image.

  16. You use so few words but you tell the whole story through them, I love this.

  17. calliopespen says:

    Oh yes–this is good. What an image. This is perfect.

  18. Loch Rob says:

    I agree. I think haiku involks visual images from the words. It also provokes thoughts about the meaning, and then how we relate to it. Very well done.

  19. Aulice Payne says:

    Love this haiku. What a clever juxtaposition, frost and silk “`”

  20. lesliepaints says:

    I see it! I think haiku is a picture. When I see it vividly in my mind, it’s good. This is good.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

