On Awaiting the Arrival of My Sister’s Child

I think of you with wonder and with envy–
               a delicate blossom with the fragrant scent of life
as yet untainted by a heavy air—I think of you,
               the fragrant scent of life, and pray.
Let roots grow deep before the storms;
before the storms, let petals lift to a bright heaven.
               The seed that was sown is budding,
               budding unaware of the rains of sorrow
and this sheltering prayer of love.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On Awaiting the Arrival of My Sister’s Child

  1. This would be something to cherish! How your sister must have been blessed by it.

    It was a privilege to read it 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you. It is a special poem for a very special time. I’m sure I gave it to my sister, but I think I’ll pass it along again. The unborn in the poem is now living at home, struggling with near adulthood. He might like it too, especially because I still adore him and pray for him.

  2. mydomainpvt says:

    its simply adorable. loved it.

  3. Amity Me says:

    We have that giddy feeling whenever we await for the arrival of exciting things, especially of the coming of a new-baby!

    very well said Youmei!

    And i so loved babies so much. Wish i could have another!

  4. blissbait says:

    i love your journey
    that this was written ‘back when’
    yet still speaks to him…

    That’s very lovely and quite AMAZING. Wow. Really sweet words. And ISN’T it insane how time just ffffllliiiiiieeesssss?

    I wish him peace and a beautiful quality of ease. Seems like quite a few hit a brick wall around that age…

    Thank You and Cheers and Namaste All! 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      One of the joys of good art and writing, timelessness. Thank you. I will talk to him this holiday (he’s moved back home for now) and hope to hear things are better. (He’s secretly my favorite nephew, though I love the others dearly.)

  5. Technobabe says:

    This is such a lovely time while the child is growing within, safe and protected and nurtured. I like the way you write about your sister’s child to be.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Jennifer: Yes. I need to renew these prayers. He’s in his 20’s now and struggling with life.
      Technobabe: I was so excited then. I never liked babies until he was born. Hard to believe he’s nearly done with college.

  6. Jennifer says:

    This is lovely. Let roots grow deep underneath the sheltering prayer of love. Yes.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

