Reveries

Mother’s flowerpress
unused—crystalline petals,
hoary frosted panes

duck pair dives, feeding,
sending ripples–dark autumn
pond surface quivers

Rouen

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Gallery, Haiku, Photo, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Reveries

  1. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    Love these haiku. Autumn is my favorite time of year. It’s amazing how one can capture the essence of autumn through haiku!

  2. I loved this haiku. The imagery is wonderful. I can feel the coolness on me just reading this. How lovely. And I love the ducks as well.

  3. ichabod says:

    Hi Yousei;

    The words paint, the picture is.

    To see other life as these two ducks is a pleasurable experience, is it not? :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      I really enjoy my ducks. They have funny personalities. The momma laid over 50 eggs this summer. Next summer, if they make it through the winter (predators), we’ll gather the eggs and try to hatch more than the 7 she hatched. We also have wild ducks on a small natural lake next to our property. My pair does a lot more talking. ;)

      • ichabod says:

        Hi Yousei;

        I used to live next to a Duck Unlimited game preserve. The predators are men. The were allowed to hunt on one side of a two lane blacktop, but not on the side the game preserve was on. This blacktop strung its way through flat prairie.

        One morning I was driving through and saw thousands of the birds on the ground on the gamed preserve side of the road, right up to the road.

        Not one bird was on the other side of the road.

        That one had me smiling :)

  4. blissbait says:

    MMMMMMMMM. I love Your beautiful haikus coupled, just as the ducks are. That’s a great marraige that made me long for a sparkly chill to the air.

    Thank You!!! Cheers and Namaste. :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      I feel the same way. We have a pellet burning stove in a small room with two nice windows. I snuggle in my leather chair, which is near the stove, wrap myself in a blanket and watch the ducks in the pond or read . . . sometimes a bit of both. :)

      • blissbait says:

        Oh! Deliciousness…My favourite kind of ‘hanging out’! Well, that, and/or a really lovely beach….or floating in the sea….or….Thank You for taking me Lovely places! Cheers and Namaste. :)

  5. mydomainpvt says:

    how a clear picture can be drawn by using some very appropriate words.. beautiful.

  6. owlren says:

    These are real gems! I love the visuals they prompt, and the photo is very sweet as well. What a coincidence… I put up a duck poem also!

  7. Technobabe says:

    The first one is a girl thing and the second one is a guy thing sorta.

  8. Jennifer says:

    I loved the image of the ducks diving – the dark autumn pond surface quivering.

  9. This is a total sidenote, but at first I read the second line in the second haiku as “ripple-dark”, which really stood out to me. Kind of like Homer’s “wine-dark sea”… the trough of a ripple always looks darker than the peaks that surround it. And I don’t think that was the intention, but I just said, “whoa, that’s cool.”

    …and they’re both still cool and beautiful, I just thought I’d mention. ;)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Ah, thank you for pointing that out. I realized as I wrote they could be read many ways. That’s one of my favorite aspects of haiku, but I hadn’t thought of the image you pointed out. Thanks! :D

  10. Well these are very nice, indeed! I like the line “hoary frosted panes.”

    And other lines, too, of course. That one is just especially intriguing.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Me too. I really tossed a lot of phrases around for these two poems. They were difficult to finalize. I like the tension I feel from “hoary frosted panes.” I wouldn’t normally put a word like that in.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

