By My Eldest

Carl’s Painting

Reubens

Paintings, Jesus

Thinking, looking, loving

I like Reuben’s paintings because

I think they are beautiful.

Frames

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in By My Children, Favorite Poems by Others, Poetry, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to By My Eldest

  1. blissbait says:

    Okay….I loved it anyway, but sitting here about to dive in to making a comment, I see that this was drawn/written in the second grade!!! WOW!!! Isn’t that INCREDIBLE!?! Love it!! I have framed words/art from my son at that age as well. Thank You for this! Walking away with a big smile on my face…

    Cheers and Namaste. :)

  2. Tacy says:

    It stinks when that happens! But I’m sure tomorrow will be better. :D

  3. Tacy says:

    They are! How are things going for you?

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Long mostly wasted day today. I waited for a phone call that never came. Felt like I couldn’t start anything, because I knew I’d have to go when the call came. Sigh. Glad you’re doing well.

  4. Julie says:

    This is the second time today I’ve thought “Wow” when seeing Carl’s work. He is so talented! I love the colors and composition.

  5. Tacy says:

    Wow. I love your website! Thank you for the nice comment on mine. Finally caught a break. ;)

  6. mydomainpvt says:

    simply lovely.. full of vibrant beautiful colours.

  7. Technobabe says:

    Like you, there were no art classes available when I was young. This is a beautiful piece of art. I am impressed and delighted that you shared it in your blog.

  8. kseverny says:

    that really is good for a young kid. has he neglected it in recent years or contnued learning.
    i remember i neglected art at school

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you. I’m proud of him. He still draws and paints, usually when he has homework to do. He has taken all the art classes he can right now, except for pottery and sculpting. We didn’t have any art classes when I was in school :(. Lucky him.

  9. Carmen says:

    Oops, I hadn’t read all the other comments. What kind of art projects does he do? Still painting, or has he branched out?

  10. Carmen says:

    That’s just awesome. And for a 7- or 8-year old? Amazing. Is he still artistic?

  11. An Imperfect Servant says:

    I think it is wonderful to celebrate our children and childhood. It is a beautiful work of art and poetry.
    Thank you so much for sharing.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I am proud of him, even as he aggravates me as a 16 year old. He is still a very good artist. I will post another of his paintings later. (Just wish he took more interest in his grades. ;) ) Thank you for stopping by. You’re welcome anytime.

  12. A second grader did that? Wow that’s fabulous.

  13. Yousei Hime says:

    The painting and poem were done by my oldest son when he was in the second grade. He is now 16, so that was nine years ago. They both hang in my kitchen.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

