Some of my favorite haiku

haiku Irisfrom every direction
cherry blossom petals blow
into Lake Biwa
(Basho)

come out to view
the truth of flowers blooming
in poverty
(Basho)

with no underrobes,
bare butt suddenly exposed–
a gust of spring wind
(Buson)

the distant mountains
are reflected in the eye
of the dragonfly
(Issa)

this piercing cold I feel
my dead wife’s comb, in our bedroom
under my heel . . . .
(Buson)

to hold my wife
treading spring noon’s
gravel going home
(Kusatao)

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Favorite Poems by Others, Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some of my favorite haiku

  1. Carrot says:

    Issa is my all time favorite 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by!!! I can’t decide whom I like the best, so I just pick favorite poems. The masters each have a different tone, feel, way of speaking. I’ll stop by your place soon. 🙂

  2. I love these ones too. Always amazes me how so much can be evoked by so few words.

  3. blissbait says:

    These are BEAUTIFUL! Thank You for sharing them!!!

    This one:

    come out to view
    the truth of flowers blooming
    in poverty
    (Basho)

    is making my mind do joyous backflips. I’ve read it over and over. Love this.

    And this one:

    this piercing cold i feel
    my dead wife’s comb, in our bedroom
    under me heel . . . .
    (Buson)

    Slayed me and brought tears. Incredible that such deep grief can be expressed with so few words.

    Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

