My new gravatar

It’s so hard to see as gravatar that I just had to post it to give everyone a better look.

Usagi

Poetic Rabbit

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Gallery, Painting/Drawing, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to My new gravatar

  1. Jennifer says:

    I, too, am impressed with your artistic ability! I love writing poetry, but I do not consider myself skilled at painting/drawing in any way. How perfect – poetic rabbit.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you so much for the compliment. And thank you for stopping by my site. I really enjoyed the uplifting nature of your site. I look forward to reading more. Please come by any time. 🙂

  2. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    love the poetic rabbit!

  3. blissbait says:

    hey! just sniffing ’round
    for surprises and to say
    have a fun, great day!!!

    Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      I’m about halfway done. 😦 If I get a bit more time, I’ll have it in late tonight. (I even worked on it during church today . . . shhhhhhhhhh.) Can hardly wait to share it with everyone. l:o:l

  4. heartshapedlies says:

    Wow. It’s been awhile since I’ve visited this blog and I love the gravatar XD It’s amazing that you can do stuff like this AND write! It’s just so adorable, the rabbit and moon and everything I can’t stop looking at it XDXD

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Oh, I am sooooooooooooo glad you stopped by. Thank you for the compliments. The rabbit turned out perfectly. I’ll have to work on the rest. I’ll stop by your site later today (been watching for updates and was starting to worry about you). Be sure and check back on my site late today or tomorrow for a surprise.

      • heartshapedlies says:

        Haha.. My last post was… haha. It would’ve been creepy if that had been the last XP And yaay I saw the surprise! Makes me excited but I have a Bio test to study for I’ll be sure to check it out properly tomorrow 😉

  5. I really don’t get how people manage to draw stuff, this is pure beauty, beauty at its best.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you! I am so glad you stopped by. Thank you as well for the compliment. I think drawing (or any visual art) is like writing. Both artists see something inside, then bring that to the outside so others can see it too. Your writing does that beautifully, by the way. Have a wonderful day, sweet girl.

  6. owlren says:

    This is super cute! I’d love to see more of your doodles.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you! I thought it was cute too. I’ll include my art from time to time. I have a response to your most recent post, but I’ve got to do a little research on it first. That will have to wait until I finish the story I’m writing now. Every time I get energized to write on it, I get interrupted. Very aggrivating. Soon though. 🙂

  7. blissbait says:

    i’m in LOOOOOOVE with this!
    want to see more of your art
    must explore your blog….

    Hey! Seriously, this is SOOOOOO lovely. You know, I’ve been writing a book about some rabbits for about ten years now. God knows if I’ll ever finish it. There’s almost four hundred pages and it still needs so much work. I usually write more swiftly, but my point being….I always illustrate my own stuff but for the life of me couldn’t draw my rabbits the way I ‘see’ them. If I EVER, EVER, EVER finish that book, and if I am blessed enough to EVER have anything happen with it, and if You like it, I’d LOVE to request You as illustrator.

    Thanks for spreading this loveliness and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      You are so sweet. Thank you. Yes, I drew it. I doodle rabbits frequently because they are my Chinese zodiac sign. This one turned out particularly well. Just wish the rest of the painting was as good. Even my youngest agreed with me that the moon was a bit pathetic. As far as being your illustrator, I’d be honored. It sounds like I could safely agree, for it seems I’ll have time enough to improve my skills. 😉 You mentioned being curious about the story behind the rabbit. I don’t have one for this particular rabbit, not yet. I do have one I want to share with you.

      The reason why a rabbit is on the moon is described in the Buddhist story “Sasajâtaka”, where a monkey, an otter, a jackal, and a rabbit were friends. Together they resolved to practise charity on the Uposatha day (the day of fast), that was to occur on the following day. In the tradition it was believed that one who stood fast in moral practice and alms-giving on that day would earn a great reward. When an old man begged for food, the monkey was able to gather fruits from the trees, the otter was able to gather dead fish from the river bank, the jackal wrongfully pilfered a lizard and a pot of milk-curd from somebody’s house. The rabbit, wanting to offer something acceptable to the man, was only able to gather grass, and therefore offered its own body instead, and threw itself into a fire that the man built. The rabbit however did not get burned. The old man then revealed himself to be Sakra, and being touched by the rabbit’s virtue, build for him a palace on the Moon. There he can be seen still with a mortar and pestle busily pounding away and making the Elixir of Immortality for the gods (and sometimes rice flour to make moon cakes for the Mid-Autumn Festival).

      It is said that the smoke-like substance surrounding the lunar image is the smoke that rose when the rabbit cast itself into the fire.

      * This story can be found in the Konjaku Monogatarishu, a Japanese collection of tales from India, China, and Japan. In this version, however, the rabbit’s friends are a fox and a monkey. The deity is substituted for either the Buddha or three sages who come down to Earth to beg for alms. Strangely, the same rabbit also appears in Mexican mythology.

      (from http://www.monstropedia.org/index.php?title=Moon_rabbit)

      So, though this may not be my rabbit’s story, it does have roots in it.

      • blissbait says:

        Gosh!!! I LOVE that. SO beautiful. Oh THANK YOU for sharing that story! I never even knew there was a rabbit in the moon! Can’t wait to look next time She’s full. 🙂 And I beg to differ with You and Your son! I LOVE your moon! 🙂

        Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

        • Yousei Hime says:

          I love the story too!!! It made being a rabbit that much better. As to the moon, I will agree that things a bit wonky are so much more charming. (Because of how I had to crop the picture, you can’t see the wonky moon’s perfect reflection in the pond.) I’m still not finished with my surprise (life keeps interrupted, dang it). I kept myself awake thinking about it and everyone’s reactions. (giggle)

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

