Winter Mornings

swaddled in blankets
chilly air fanned around me
staying forever

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Winter Mornings

  1. Fay says:

    I loved your ‘usagi’ painting!
    Do you always write haiku in English 5-7-5 syllables???

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you. I’m glad you like it. I was pleased with how the rabbit turned out. Currently I do write only in English. Yousei Hime is a pseudonym, an encouraging and creative inner self. I am studying Japanese and hope to write in the langauge in the future. There is a site in my blogroll, Blue Willow Haiku World [http://fayaoyagi.wordpress.com/], where actual translations of modern haiku, tanka, etc. are done by a Japanese poet, Fay Aoyagi. Many are quite beautiful, including today’s.

  2. catgirlslovehaiku says:

    I can soooo relate. Heat is out at the house! BRRRRRRRRR!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Oh no. Our power went out last winter during one of the coldest spells. My husband was out of town, and I sent the boys somewhere else. I stayed at home and camped out by the propane heater. Stay warm!!!!

  3. heartshapedlies says:

    Beautiful 🙂

  4. I think this haiku is balanced just so, and doesn’t need constructive criticism. I like to read it aloud.

  5. Technobabe says:

    I am reading your blog and so enjoying it. I love reading poetry and have tried writing it occasionally. I’m a better reader!! In this particular post, I appreciate the simplicity that takes me right to the place of comfort.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      I am so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for the visit and the compliment. Come by as often as you like; leave a comment or suggestion if you feel like it. I can’t always promise comfort, but I will always write to move and stir. I’ll come visit your site soon. 🙂

  6. Julie says:

    Hi, Yousei. Thank you for your comment at my place. I dropped in earlier for a quick peek, but I like to wait until the house is quiet, so I can absorb what you’ve done. Lovely work! I especially like “chilly air fanned around me.” That catches the moment and the atmosphere so well.

    I’m impressed by anyone who can do haiku. Mine are terrible, so I don’t post them…ha! ha! But you’ve done a great job here. It’s nice to meet you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Julie, thank you so much for stopping by and for the compliments. I love haiku, but find writing a good one very difficult. I read sometime last week (and I can’t find the book I read it in–which is beyond aggravating) if one writes one good haiku in life, one is a poet. If one writes 10 in a lifetime, one is a master. I believe it. Kind of like looking for a golden needle in a haystack. Is it worth it? I think so. A good haiku stays with you, a picture in your head. That’s true of any good writing, just easier to remember 17 syllables. 😉

      I truly enjoyed your midwife piece; so much that I had to share it with another blogfriend I knew would like it. Congratulations on the Southern Women’s Review too. I’ll come visit again soon.

  7. blissbait says:

    it’s cloudy outside
    i’m diving into your poem
    and brilliant idea!

    I’d love to spend the day that way. Delicious! Thank You! And Thank You again for Your lovely poem about walls. You seriously gifted me all day long with that one!!!

    Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Oh, a haiku dialogue!!!! Unfortunately, I’m too tired to think up a 5-7-5 response. Ok, wait … here goes:

      unfortunately
      i’m too tired to think up
      a perfect response

      lol. Also unfortunately, I didn’t get to spend the day that way at all. Errand, errand, errand, errand, ugh. Can’t wait for bed. Thank you sweet blissbeam.

      • blissbait says:

        Ah! I had an errand errand errand day too! And WOW!!!! Thank You for sending me to read the Midwife Eulogy. SOOOOO BEAUTIFUL! What a great way to end the day. Muchas Gracias and Make Fine Dreams! 🙂

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

