wall falling down

Hadrian’s, cell,  Great, Facebook,
mending, Street, wailing, home, memorial,
yellow papered, Helms Deep, Amontillado, fire,
Pyramus-Thisby, Nick Bottom-Francis Flute . . .
How many different walls are there?
 you                   words                         me

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to wall falling down

  1. owlren says:

    Nice. I especially like the inclusion of Pyramus and Thisby.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you! I am taking suggestions for additions to the wall. Everytime I think I’ve run dry, I come up with a couple more. Of course, I prefer they are clever, even sneaky. I guess I like the puzzle challenge aspect of the piece–figure out the reference to each wall challenge. I digress. Thanks for stopping by again. I enjoy visiting your site daily.

      • owlren says:

        I just thought of a wall type of thing that might be of interest to you. Have you ever read Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s “The Yellow Wallpaper”? In the story, the protagonist begins to believe that there is a woman trapped behind the wallpaper. http://www.sparknotes.com/lit/yellowwallpaper/ (Just in case you haven’t read it.)

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Thank you so for the mention. I have not read the story. I went straight to the site, and OMG! That is an amazing/terrifying/little-too-close-to-home story. In a nutshell, it’s going in. Thank you!!! (I’ll try to read the story at a later date, I’m already three books deep with two of my own writing ideas impatient in the wings.)

  2. blissbait says:

    Good Lord. That’s brilliant. That last line blew my mind. I think about that all the time. Sometimes it feels that even our most dear attempts at connection are just empty bricks.

    Thank You and Cheers and Namaste All. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      You are so good for my ego! I am welcoming any other wall suggestions. I’ve thought of another one myself, but have to research it a little and then figure out where to put it. Little like building a stone wall, hmmm? (Acckk, it rolled off!) Thank you, blissbait, you’re a welcome, happy sunbeam.

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

