Pleasure

soft, silly giggles
whispering boys in bunk beds
favorite lullaby

bunkbeds

Favorite Crooners

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Photo, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pleasure

  1. Aulice Payne says:

    Thanks for this – I also wrote a wistful haiku about kids, I guess it’s a universal subject. I enjoyed the photo too “!”

  2. Tumblewords says:

    The wistful comes through so well. Nice!

  3. Nancy says:

    I love how this is wistful in context of looking back! Thanks for posting on Haiku Bones!

  4. Heike Holm says:

    Waenderful, the littles boys trys to sleep and is too excited. Very nice I thank you. Truly, Heike

  5. A beautiful haiku, and comments. Taken together, they paint quite a picture!

    I’ve always said I hope I never have to reincarnate again to face “MIDDLE SCHOOL!”

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Thank you. This is one of my favorites all around–the haiku, the memory, the picture. It would be nice if we could all skip junior high. However, without it I would never have memorized “If” by Rudyard Kipling and have learned how to diagram sentences.

  6. I shared mine with my forever crying fusst little brother, we stopped when I went to boarding school and I didn’t miss it…….. Until he hit the Ado stage and barely said two words to everyone in the house.
    Now he’s over it and I wish I could rewind and put him back to his teens so he’d shut up.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      lol 😀 Sadly, even though I’m the grownup/parent, I still wish my boys were little and cute and forgiving somedays. Lately all I get is angst and lip. Perhaps there will come a day (I’m sure there will come at least one) when we will look back and miss the angst, lip and everflowing conversation. Thanks for stopping by and sharing with me!

  7. Glad to know they grow out of it! (I have a 14 year old girl who thinks everything her mother says and does is stupid –or, at best, wierd). I enjoyed the haiku. Your mentioning the ages that your boys are now, adds a kind of nostalgic dimension to the poem. Nice.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Funny, I don’t remember thinking my parents were stupid or weird. I didn’t dare. I might admit to thinking that my father was bullheaded and unreasonable. I hated my father, as an adolescent will, for quite a while. Story for another time. I try not to let my boys’ angry words wound me, but there are days I forget to put on the parent armor. Still love them bunches.

  8. blissbait says:

    ‘favorite lullaby’

    Indeeeeeeeeeed! Just returned home from taking my grown son to breakfast. He still delights me to no end. We were laughing so hard walking back to our cars that he had to crouch down. Such a joyful, joyful journey. Your lovely haiku and photo brings great memories dancing in!

    Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    • Yousei Hime says:

      They are great memories, aren’t they! My boys are now 16 and 13. I never doubt their love, but I do wonder about their manners (the things they say sometimes 😯 ). I’m certain they’ll grow to be fine gentleman and refrain from mauling each when within 3 feet of each other . . . someday. 😉

      • blissbait says:

        Oh yeah. No doubt we went through HELL at those ages! Nothing outrageous, just the attitude and the mouthiness. They do grow out of it! But Yes…..talk about challenging! YIKES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lord Have Mercy! Hang in there!!! 😆

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

