Poetry with Words

Using a word list from flipside records, here is a poetic offering from a work-weary rabbit.

christen my day wistful
wind Byzantium mischief until
absurd juniper tidings
cripple hope’s stubborn teal taint
solicit an evasive well-traveled answer
erratic constellations. . . obscured mirrors. . . scornful sepulcher
these self-governing taints, mediocre poisons

Camping Under the Stars 2

Camping Under the Stars 2 (Photo credit: PoweriPics)

I desire barmy glimmer sprinkles
that leave sweet lesions
on my soul

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Poetry with Words

  1. I vote for the erratic constellations and obscured mirrors!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kathy, :D I like those too. Life feels like its guided by inconsistent stars sometimes, and I’m all for mirrors that don’t reflect clearly. Thanks for stopping in and sharing your favorites.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    “barmy glimmer sprinkles” They sound luscious and I just like saying this!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie, ;) Makes it fun, doesn’t it. I’m not a fan of the word “barmy” (too pirate-y), but it does wonders for glimmer sprinkles. :D Thanks for coming by and sharing.

  3. Claudia says:

    I desire barmy glimmer sprinkles
    that leave sweet lesions
    on my soul…hmmm…nothing better than a sparkling night sky….

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Claudia,
      I completely agree. With days so hot, even the sun has lost its appeal. Night twinkling, even dimmed by an enormous glowing moon, feeds the poets soul, doesn’t it? Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this.

  4. ManicDdaily says:

    I’ve missed your work and glad to see you writing again – for me, I like hope’s stubborn teal taint. Hope does have a teal taint (to me) and hopefully (ha!) it IS stubborn ! “Glimmer sprinkles” also a beautiful phrase (among many). k.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      k,
      It is so good to be back. :D The word list was a delight with which to work. It almost spun its own phrases. Thank you for stopping in, reading and commenting. I’ve enjoyed my reading at your place as well.

  5. I love these:
    “wind Byzantium mischief”
    “erratic constellations”

    And yes, that ending is great:
    “I desire barmy glimmer sprinkles
    that leave sweet lesions
    on my soul”

    Thank you so much. I know how busy you are. :)

  6. cloudfactor5 says:

    Really enjoyed your use of the word list, especially the fantastic ending !!

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

