Summer 2012 Showcase

Ivory okimono depicting two toads on lotus lea...

Ivory okimono depicting two toads on lotus leaf, Japan, 16th century, OJ232 (Photo credit: Wolverhampton Arts + Heritage)

Quick post to let you know that summer haiku, with lots of splashing, are going on at the zen space, hosted by Marie Marshall.  You’ll find art, poetry and fun.  Please hop over and splash around yourself.   You’ll find the rabbit’s tracks under T. A. Smith.

AAMSF - netsuke - rabbits

AAMSF – netsuke – rabbits (Photo credit: Marshall Astor – Food Fetishist)

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Interesting Blogs, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Summer 2012 Showcase

  1. aloha Yousei Hime . some time ago ( more than a decade) I came across an exhibition of netsuke gems. it was a show attached to a larger show. I didn’t know anything about them until then. wow. the materials, skill, imagery. wow. I can understand why you intend to collect these. fun. sending you wellness thoughts. aloha.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Rick,
      They are fascinating. I doubt I’ll aggressively build my collection. I suspect I’ll just keep my eyes open and listen for whispers of figures that want to come live with me. Like you, I’m amazed at the craftsmanship. Perhaps in time I’ll have more than one figure to share and write about. Over at Extrasimile the writer, whose work I really admire, has written a series of poems based on various netsuke.

      Thanks for the healing thoughts. I’m better and better every day.

      • yeah. collecting. i have thoughts about that too. i think great collectors are thoughtful collectors. one of the things i think in terms of collecting is to link “your next” work to a previous work. so you know where it goes in the collection. the link can be any way you see it – by color. or maybe subject. or medium. or artist. but there is always a connection that moves from one work to the next. i like that idea. i’m more of an “accumulator” things that attract me i gather. which isnt quite the same as a collector (imo). i suspect whispers may work for collecting. i like that. yeah, you’ll know when the work is right. fun on that too.

        cool on the link. i’ll follow it over now. aloha.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          Rick,
          I like your idea of connecting items in collections. Sounds like the artist’s eye to me. ;) I understand that knack for accumulating too. You should see the books I’ve “accumulated” over the years. Hope you enjoy your visit and read at Extrasimile. Thanks for stopping in.

  2. rosemary mint says:

    Wish you’d write me some haiku. :)

  3. Victoria says:

    Cool sculptures.

  4. Deborah Avila says:

    Hopefully you’re feeling better friend ~ Thanks for this wonderful post!

  5. thomas peck says:

    Hi Yousei. I love the netsuke picture, particularly the rabbits. Have you read ‘The hare with amber eyes’, excellent novel/history, sweeps through Europe from the 1850s to Japan in the 1960s, with netsuke as the leitmotiv. A cracking read. Let me know what you think! Tom

    • Yousei Hime says:

      thomas peck,
      Welcome and thank you. I got my first netsuke, a rabbit of course, last fall. I’m definitely going to build a collection in time. I would have loved to have the pair in the picture. I had not heard of that novel. Now I’ll have to go looking for it. It sounds interesting (being a sucker for rabbit tales), and I’ll definitely let you know what I thought. :)

  6. nonoymanga says:

    Fantastic arts!!! good Link!!! cheers Nonoy Manga

  7. rosemary mint says:

    “The Zen Space”? Can’t wait! How are you feeling?

  8. slpmartin says:

    Very nice…thanks for the referral

  9. Raven says:

    Love the art … how do I say thank you for showing me that lovely place?

    light summer haze – still a tadpole ;)

  10. Luke Prater says:

    i’ll go over >>>

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

