Sacred Music

Monday Morning Writing Prompt at liv2write2day’s blog challenges readers to:

reflect on sacred music. Perhaps you will want to play a CD of your own that helps you to relax and meditate. What rings your spiritual chimes? Gregorian or Buddhist chant? New Age? Drumming? The sounds of nature? Or? Allow yourself to listen and then go with it, wherever the tones or notes or rhythm leads you. Then write, poetry or prose, whatever bubbles out of that moment.

I find a spiritual element in all music, even music I don’t like.  Below are two songs that I return to whenever I need peace.

Kojo no Tsuki (Moon over the ruined castle) played by Jean Pierre Rampal

Pie Jesu by Iwasaki Taku

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

broken
I play a mourning flute
grief trills
pain crescendos
scaling
above
the broken castle
harp beats
contrapuntal
with
a shattered heart

hear now
piano
sotto voce oboe
drifting down
obbligato
to a flute in
decrescendo
fermata
held by certainty
harmony
forgiveness, acceptance, love
in a perfect ensemble
with this
broken
self

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sacred Music

  1. Great poem … it is perfect and the song by Kojo no Tsaki is very tranquil. My daughter plays flute so it brought back into my memories when I listened to her playing. Thank you for this gentle post.

    here is my posting for MMWP … enjoy ..!!!http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/the-benedictine-monastery-academy/

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Inside the Mind of Isadora,
      Welcome. Glad you liked the poem and that the music brought you memories. M mother makes the same kind of comments when she hears flutes–I played flute too. I’ll be over to read soon.

  2. Yousei, this is splendid. I am also not familiar with the music, but it is lovely.

    Pamela

  3. Feanare says:

    Thank you for sharing such music of beauty and dignity.
    To be honest, I found your poem just as beautiful. It’s not for everyone to use words like contrapuntal and decrescendo, in poetry. But as pointed out above, the terms are like music themselves. At least to people who know their melody… :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Feanare,
      If I can do in words half of what you do in photography, I have done well indeed. I’m so glad you read, listened and enjoyed. My pleasure is in sharing them all with you. I look forward to your next visits and insights.

  4. Mike Patrick says:

    I was not familiar with the music you chose. How have I missed such beauty until this date. Your poem was lovely, but I’ll carry your music in my heart for weeks. Thank you.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Mike,
      Welcome and thank you for your comment. I’m glad I could share these with you. They are beautiful and very special to me. Enjoy them and come back again sometime.

  5. margo roby says:

    Thank you, both for the music and for the poem. I am interested to see that both you and ViV include the music in your writing. And, I love what happened with your poem. One of my favourite poems is written about the music I was listening to, rather than what the music made me feel sensorily.

    margo

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Margo,
      I am delighted to share these with you. This music is so special to me, I would rather give a reader opportunity to hear it than just read my poem. Besides, I like it much better than my writing anyway. ;) You know, I’m not sure which has a greater influence in my life, music or words. I think I’ve been singing and telling stories from the beginning.

  6. manicddaily says:

    Your use of the musical terms is so lovely–first because they themselves are music–such aurally beautiful words–and then to interplay between the emotions is also affecting. K.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      K,
      I agree! Words have a rhythm and music all there own. Meanings and context make it even richer. I appreciate your visit and insightful comment. Look forward to seeing you again.

      • vivinfrance says:

        The Italian of musical terms is (almost) as beautiful as the music: it made me want to learn the language.

        I love your poem.

        • Yousei Hime says:

          vivanfrance,
          I studied piano for years and these words are a part of my vocabulary. I think Italian (for the sound of it–not sure about the complexity) is a beautiful language. I certainly don’t mind listening to an aria when Andrea Bocelli is singing … or Josh Groban … hmmm, I do like Italian. Thank you for your comment and visit.

  7. Morning says:

    wow, what a creative take.

    elegant words.

  8. Tino says:

    Two very soothing pieces chosen, thanks for sharing them, I don’t know either, but enjoyed listening. I also find great comfort in music, it heals me when I need it too, without any obligation.

  9. Victoria says:

    Both pieces evoke a sense of the spiritual and your poetry shows your understanding of these aspects of music and your knowledge of music as well. I’m so glad you shared with us, Yousei. I posted this a day early here, too. With all the time zones that respond, I try to get it out there ahead of time.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Victoria,
      Time zones make it fun on the internet. Glad I saw your prompt, and I was very happy to have participated. Thank you for creating it and for taking time to read and respond here.

  10. Bodhirose says:

    Your offering of sacred music was beautifully done. I enjoyed the music you added–the first sounded somewhat familiar but I don’t know if I’ve heard it before or not. Also your writing is a lovely accompaniment.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Bodhirose,
      Your reading and comments are most welcome. I don’t think the Rampal piece is played very often, I’ve only heard it once or twice outside of listening to my own copy. The second piece is from an anime soundtrack, and one is unlikely to have heard it apart from that world. Still I find it quite beautiful. Glad I could share these with you. Thank you for sharing your observations.

  11. slpmartin says:

    What wonderful music…I’ve always found music as the place to lift the spirit….such a fine poem for the prompts.

  12. Ruth says:

    Beautiful selection of music, and the poem is lovely too. It was the first time I’d heard the Kojo no Tsuki – gorgeous, so glad you included it…

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

