Purity of Fog

Victoria, via the Poets’ site dVerse (Thank you, Amy, for taking me there), offered this challenge:

For today’s prompt, let’s grab our paints and mix up a poetic palette using color. Here are a few ways you might approach the prompt:
Use a color in the title of your poem and allow that color to deliver a message.
Look back at Emmett Wheatfall’s prompt for Meeting the Bar on October 26th and choose two complementary colors (colors that are opposite of one another on the color wheel) and weave them into a single poem.
Choose colors to paint an emotion.
Pick one of the color terms explained above and use it in your verbal painting.
Choose the work of a visual artist—known or unknown—even your own, and write an ekphrasis using that piece, considering his or her use of color.
Write a poem, using colorful visual details for sensory description.
Assign a meaning to a color that seems to oppose the usual association (such as a relaxing red room).
Collaborate with a child to write a color poem. This just could introduce your child, grandchild or neighbor to the joy of poetry.
Do whatever the heck you want, but add a touch of color and have fun with it.

That was the specific challenge, but you really should visit the site.  Victoria presents an excellent discussion of color, hue and value in poetry, crossing over from visual art.  It’s well worth the read.

So, here is my humble word painting:

Purity of Fog

tertiary
bastard child of life
shifting between values

Haze Layers

Image by Tom Haymes via Flickr

shades of brilliant darkness
tinted with deepest light
cools to hoary reality
warming in grizzled adversity

I am drawn
haloed
in its absolute intensity

[for dVerse]

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Free Verse, Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Purity of Fog

  1. viv blake says:

    The density of imagery in this poem is compelling – you made me think, which is what a poem should do!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      viv,
      I agree with you on “what a poem should do.” My favorite poem are those that send me down the pondering path but evade the jungles of confusion. Thank you for reading and sharing. I’m glad you found it to your liking.

  2. Irene says:

    You’re right about absolute intensity, and I do like the grayness of fog as well.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Irene,
      I noticed I wasn’t the only one who thought about “outside-the-norm” color. This poem was definitely flavored by the concepts of painting, and I like how those terms work as poetic concepts. Thanks for stopping in for a read. :)

  3. Misky says:

    Intensely vivid and descriptive. Wonderful.

  4. ManicDdaily says:

    This is a super pretty and thoughtful poem, Yousei. I especially like the end which describes an intense fog beautifully. k.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      k,
      I don’t always continue to like what I’ve written, but this poem is a happy exception. Fog is a wonderful, mysterious thing with it’s own dangers. Thanks for reading and sharing your enjoyment.

  5. brian miller says:

    dont know how i missed this the first time around….you did really well with this…you address the color without addressing the color and give it great texture and depth with emotion…like it much…also love having you at dverse as well…smiles.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      brian,
      I was like a cat with cream when the idea of using fog to represent color occurred to me. This is one I’m quite proud of, and I’m delighted you came by and read it. :)

  6. This is my favorite part:

    “bastard child of life
    shifting between values
    shades of brilliant darkness”

  7. Claudia says:

    I am drawn
    haloed
    in its absolute intensity…love that..there’s much to say about intensity..i like

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Claudia,
      So glad you enjoyed it. I loved writing this one, using the qualities of painting to paint a different picture. Thank you for coming by and sharing it with me.

  8. ayala says:

    Lovely poem ! I enjoyed it !

  9. Wow, sorry I missed this one the first time round, fantastic work!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Anna,
      Welcome and thank you. It’s one of my favorites too. Happy to share it with you. I visited your blog, left you a note, and plan to visit and read again. :D

  10. Peggy Goetz says:

    I was hooked by your title and the writing pulled me in as well. I like the idea of using the muted pallet–life tends to be subtle in many ways! Write on!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Peggy Goetz,
      Thank you for your visit and comment. I agree that muted colors are more common in life and so easily overlooked. I’ll be over for a visit soon. Hope to see you again.

  11. Mary says:

    Glad you shared this with Poetry Jam. Take a look around, and join us again this coming week.

  12. siubhan says:

    you painted this so vividly. love how you added yourself to the canvas in those last three lines so fittingly.

  13. Heaven says:

    a creative take on the colour prompt ~
    this line is wonderful :

    cools to hoary reality
    warming in grizzled adversity

    Nice to meet you ~

  14. Poets United says:

    Thank you for joining Poets United. I have added your blog to our blogroll so others can discover you and your wonderful poetry. Poets United is what you make of it so explore, comment often and it will lead to folks doing so in return. We look forward to visiting your blog and reading your poetry.

    Ink runs from the corners of my mouth
    There is no happiness like mine.
    I have been eating poetry.
    ~Mark Strand

  15. Yousei, this was breathtaking. Thanks for the mention about pointing you toward that blog!

    The muted palette you chose for your “color poem” appealed to me very much. Also, the final stanza is a knockout. Altogether a wonderful read – and I do read all poetry aloud when I visit friends’ blogs. So much more satisfying.

    If you or any other bloggers want others to hear you read YOUR work, there’s a site called http://www.virtualpoetryreading.com run by my good friend Buddah Moskowitz. You literally phone in your poem; it’s posted later in the week on the site. Wonderful exposure, and you can hear some poets who read their material very well! Peace, Amy

    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/11/08/o-men/

    • Yousei Hime says:

      (Original comment was erased. Sorry, Victoria)

      Yousei, this is just stunning. I’ve spent parts of my life in fog-prone areas and for me there is something almost mystical about it and your poem reflects this. I’m so glad you commented and let me here and hope to see more of your work. And thanks for your kind comments.

      Victoria

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amy, you’re more than welcome for the mention. I’m so glad you liked the piece. It was one of those that poured out on the page pretty much by itself, leaving me wondering who’d been at the keyboard.

      I love what I’ve seen on dVerse. I think it’s exactly what I’ve been looking for to assist my poetic growth.

      Your read aloud poetry idea is great. I’m just not brave enough just yet. I’m keeping it in mind though. Might even post something on this later. Thanks for the visit and encouragement.

  16. slpmartin says:

    Really loved your response to the challenge….excellent.

  17. Purity of Fog—now there’s a visual concept all by itself. Great poem.

    Btw, I also “free blog” and my theme allows for the use of videos. So you might want to check your widgets and such on this theme.

    Thanks for enjoying Blind as much as I do. :)

  18. zumpoems says:

    Wow! You address this challenge so uniquely and unconventionally. You created light, shade and color without mentioning a single color — and with such great phrases as “shades of brilliant darkness!”

    Enjoyed your work very much!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      zumpoems, I’m blushing to the tops of my long ears. I’m rather pleased with this one as well. I think there is an idea of the color of fog. Pairing that with Victoria’s explanation of color terminology gave the image depth. Adding careful word pairings to those terms gave them meaning and emotion. Yep … I like it too. :D

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

