Bowl of Random Words 13

from winter’s table
flee frozen soul, passing spring–
bask on summer’s cliffs

for A Bowl of Random Words

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Interesting Blogs, Poetry, Prompts, Senryu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Bowl of Random Words 13

  1. Amity says:

    That soul must have been sad for quite sometime…spring brings new hope….:)

    Thanks for these beautiful words….

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Amity,
      This winter seemed long to me. I heard we may get snow again this weekend. :( Not sure why, but I’m really attached to spring this year. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. jruthkelly says:

    flee frozen soul…melt in words conjuring spring’s sun! awesome post…

  3. sweetiegirlz says:

    Yes, flee frozen soul!

  4. samanthayeh says:

    how lovely ~ oh, how we all so anticipate spring’s steady yet sometimes all too slow approach. i’m already dreaming of summer, too ♥ haha.

    it’s a delightful piece : ) simple, yet sincere and straight-forward, as always ~

    • Yousei Hime says:

      samanthayeh,
      Thank you for your comment. Spring seems to have picked up speed here, even though the nights are still quite cool. BTW I adore your gravatar. Is is from anything in particular?

      • samanthayeh says:

        the weather was beautiful for two days here as well, but it seems to have cooled down again : (

        my gravatar is actually from otohiko takano’s artbook, river’s end ♥

        • Yousei Hime says:

          samantheyah,
          It was cold and rainy here again today. I know the weather will yo-yo back and forth for the next month, but. :(

          I looked up Otohiko-San’s art. It is so familiar but I don’t remember any particular manga/anime. It is lovely.

  5. william says:

    supern haiku once more dear, excellent graphical piece xxx

  6. Technobabe says:

    I had the same theme as your haiku. I didn’t look at yours first because it is more fun to see the random words and see what I can come up with. I like your haiku. Really like “bask on summer’s cliffs”.
    Here is mine:

    It feels like summer!
    The air so warm around me
    My soul bathes in the beauty
    My spirit plunges from the cliff
    Sitting at the kitchen table
    I feel winter doldrums flee.

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Technobabe,
      I love your poem. It does have the same theme, just a softer more expanded feel. The line “My spirit plunges from the cliff” is exactly what I was thinking in my poem. Love the changing of the seasons.

  7. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Yes, we are all heading for those summer cliffs. I really like this haiku.

  8. souldose says:

    Random words you put together so perfectly.. I like the first day of spring, there’s something hopeful about it

  9. slpmartin says:

    Quite glad that winter is over also…not as cold here as elsewhere…but the spring warmth is welcomed still…nice haiku!

  10. roxie says:

    imagery! wow, I felt a chill run down my spine, congrats Yousei!

  11. lesliepaints says:

    “passing spring”? Already? Nice haiku, Yousei! I can wait awhile before basking in summer. I enjoy this time of year when it is warm enough to play outdoors and not hot enough to about pass out mowing the lawn. :)

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Leslie,
      I’m with you on the heat issue. Funny, even though it’s been waing up, I’ve been getting chilled easier. It’s either part of acclimating to the season changing menopause. Other sparrow had some great words that just seemed to move in this rapid change of seasons when I saw them. Thanks for stopping in.

  12. brian says:

    frozens souls
    thaw and sigh
    in summers sun

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

