Another Sighting of the Poetic Rabbit

elusive rabbit
left her trail to spring’s greening
before snows melted

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Another opportunity has arrived, a chance to find out about that elusive poetic rabbit.  You can discover more at Roxie’s Blog.

Thank you, Roxie.  It was fun and an honor.

About Yousei Hime

This is the journal of a poetic rabbit. Within the warren you'll find poetry, short stories, essays, art, book and movie reviews, and other odds and ends. If you happen to meet the fey princess, be courteous. This rabbit did and was forever changed.
This entry was posted in Gallery, Haiku, Interesting Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Another Sighting of the Poetic Rabbit

  1. trisha says:

    loved them both. haiku writing is very tough. :)

  2. blissbait says:

    Wonderland. Bunnies warming. Earth yawning. See what You just did to me? Blissed me out as I wind down my day. Great haiku. Took me there….

    Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. :)

  3. lesliepaints says:

    Lovely poem. This is what my rabbits are doing.I know they have been here, but haven’t caught site of them in about two weeks.

  4. adam says:

    Read this three times and each time thought the lines were suggesting something else. Well done :) Thanks

  5. Jingle says:

    wit and winner,

    award 4 u!

  6. kathytemean says:

    Yousei,

    I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed the poem you submitted over at David L Harrison’s site. Though I enjoy all your poems.

    I had a little rabbit hopping around in the snow by my back door today. I guess he has lived in my yard all winter, because I regularly see tracks in the snow.

    How do you tell if they are male or female – any idea?

    Kathy

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Kathy,
      Thank you for the encouragement. I rather like that faery poem too. As far as telling wild rabbits genders, it is difficult in most cases. Females generally have smaller ears, though not by much. It would be difficult for me to tell without a comparison. I don’t believe they have any other distinguishing characterstics, like birds have coloring. I have a hard enough time determining gender on our domestic rabbits. They are as bad as cats, in my opinion. So for the wild ones, I just make a spot decision and that’s what it is. The smarter ones are always females. ;)

  7. Sue says:

    I just popped over here because I saw the Japanese title of your blog. I really enjoyed reading through your wonderful poetry! I really want to share your haiku with my kids. We have had a hard time finding haiku in English that we actually like!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Sue,
      I’d be delighted to share my haiku (or any other writing) with your students. I am actually quite jealous of your teaching position and time in Japan. Perhaps I’ll make it over some day (when my kids are grown). Please keep in touch and let me know how things are going, if you need anything in particular, or . . . anything. :)

  8. slpmartin says:

    You’ve given me an idea to write about the rabbit that enters my garage…nothing green…and no snow here…what is he doing?…I think I’ll makeup something…thanks for the poem and the idea!

    • Yousei Hime says:

      slpmartin,
      Welcome. I am honored by your visit and your words. How wonderful to be the spark that ignites an idea. Do come back and visit and let me know what you create. :)

  9. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    P.S. How did you come by this name? I am afraid to say it out loud as I am not sure how to pronounce it.

  10. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed your interview. You are very brave to put yourself out there. I look forward to your writing. Keep on keeping on…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Lisa,
      Tracking poetic rabbits is a bit easier from season to season–you just follow the trail of poems. ;) Thank you for your encouragement. I enjoy talking about writing, less about me. Pronouncing the name would be [yo-oo-say hee-may]. I say find a comfortable pronunciation and stick with that. :D

  11. Technobabe says:

    Silly Rabbit! Didn’t the rabbit talk to the groundhog???

  12. william says:

    nice my dear, lol sounds like a hard critter to catch lol, lovely haiku as always xx

    • Yousei Hime says:

      william,
      Thank you for your continued visits and encouragement. She is a difficult rabbit to catch, but easy to track down. She leaves rough drafts everywhere. ;)

  13. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    Those waskley wabbits. You can at least see where they are headed in the snow. Cheers.

  14. brian miller says:

    waskily wabbit…cute poem….

  15. Stan Ski says:

    March 2 now – I think I missed it – if that’s the one you mean…

    • Yousei Hime says:

      Stan,
      You’re fast. First to comment. You didn’t miss anything because I’m just getting around to posting it. It’s still the first here. Thanks for visiting and reading and indulging in your curiousity. ;)

If you leave tracks, I'll find you.

